Having trouble moving to AL with an unsual database

khaelykkhaelyk Member Posts: 2
So I'm doing work with a client that had previously decided they didn't want anything to do with extensions so someone before me literally removed everything from the Nav App table. Without some form of the base application existing in the database, Application symbols aren't generated no matter what I've tried and I'm not sure how to proceed. I was wondering if anyone else here had seen/dealt with anything similar? I'm relatively new to this NAV but have been doing software development for a long time; so, I apologize if I mess up any terminology or am missing any important information.

Version is BC14.0.43286.0

Answers

• ShaiHuludShaiHulud Member Posts: 228
    You should start by downloading BC14 CU13 (link), extracting the "DVD" archive inside the archive, then publishing the System.app and Test.app from "\ModernDev\program files\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\140\AL Development Environment\". Then try to generate symbols, see if that helps
  • khaelykkhaelyk Member Posts: 2
    Hey ShaiHulud, thank you so much for responding to my question. So, I have been able to publish the System and Test apps now; however, the trouble I'm having is with the Application symbols.

• I have tried using the command line tool as described here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dynamics365/business-central/dev-itpro/developer/devenv-running-cside-and-al-side-by-side

• I have made sure to check the "Enable loading application symbol references at server startup" setting on the BC server instance.

•In VS Code, I have made sure all my settings are correct by using an original Microsoft database of the same version and making sure I could download the application symbols with that database.

• I have tried using the Export-NavApplication command via powershell.