Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 - Marketing Beta released

2»

Comments

  • clauslclausl Posts: 455Member
    BlackTiger wrote:
    Look. Here is how maximized(!) Sales Order entry form looks on 1280x800:
    2906228843_3f0d75694d.jpg?v=0
    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3218/2906228843_8a5ca0c04c_o.jpg

    1. No way to resize "Lines" section.
    2. No way to navigate between "tabs" without a mouse (forget about standard "Ctrl+PgDn/Ctrl+PgUp" combinations).
    3. Many areas are not accessible by keyboard.

    Also just compare areas used by "old fashioned" TabControl's "labels" and the new "cool one". No... unfortunately UI is not MS' strongest side...

    And "The Ribbon"... Such a wasting of space... Yes, it looks nice, but... completely useless in terms of screen space optimization. BTW, how to change ribbon's colour? Where is "big button" like I can see in Excel and Word?

    So don't forget to include minimum monitor resolution 1280x1024 in hardware specs.


    1.To make more room for the Lines FastTab I would recommend setting the property "Importance=Additional" on some of fields on the General FastTab. This is done in either Page Designer by the Partner or by the End-user in Personalization . The idea behind this setting is that fields with "Importance=Additional" are not crucial for the users daily work, but can easily be access by the user by clicking "Show more fields" in the bottom right corner of the Generals FastTab.

    2. You can navigate between FastTabs with F6 and SHIFT+F6.

    3. One ShortCut I really like is the CRTL+F10, this gives you access to the Action Pane and you press either 1,2 or 3 ex. on the Customer Card to get into either New, Process or Reports.
    But you can ready more about the ShortCuts in NAV 2009 and how the map from the Classic client in the "nav_adg.chm" on the Product DVD. Search for "ShortCuts" ;-)
    Claus Lundstrøm | MVP | Senior Product Manager | Continia.com
    I'm blogging here:http://mibuso.com/blogs/clausl and used to blog here: http://blogs.msdn.com/nav
    I'm also offering RDLC Report Training, ping me if you are interested. Thanks to the 700 NAV developers that have now already been at my training. You know you can always call if you have any RDLC report issues :-)
  • BeliasBelias Posts: 2,993Member
    Try this:
    -open a sales order (in view or edit mode)
    -click on "show me more fields" (or show "me less fields") action near the collapse/expand button of the opened "general" fast tab
    -collapse the fast tab ---it's completely white!---
    -recollapse the fast tab or click "show me..." to get it right.

    (you need at least a field on the fast tab with "additional" importance, in order to have the action button visible)
    every card page do this, not only the sales order...
    :bug: ?
    -Mirko-
    "Never memorize what you can easily find in a book".....Or Mibuso
    My Blog
  • clauslclausl Posts: 455Member
    jreynolds wrote:
    I’ve been working with pages for several months now and while I miss many of the things that were possible with forms I’m starting to learn about and appreciate some of the new things that can be done with pages. My biggest frustration has been the enormous amount of time required to learn how to develop pages. With forms we have had a number of techniques available to us.
      - The Application Designer’s Guide contains several sections on forms. - There are instructor led and self study courses available for developers. - Help exists for all of the controls, properties, and triggers available for forms. - Online communities like MIBUSO where questions can be asked and seen (and answered) by hundreds of experienced developers around the world. - Study and examine the forms that are in the system. - Testing and experimentation with form controls, properties, and triggers.

    Unfortunately for pages these have been severely limited or are non-existent although that is starting to change somewhat.
      - The Application Designer's Guide is being delivered as a help file and is starting to include information on pages but it is still very much a work in progress: - There are no instructor led or self study courses that I am aware of. - Help is starting to be delivered for controls and properties, but like the ADG it is still a work in progress. - Prior to the release of the marketing beta we were bound by NDA's to avoid discussing these topics in forums like MIBUSO. - Studying the existing pages is possible. However, since all of the pages have been created by a transformation process of forms into pages, the existing pages do not exploit all of the capabilities of pages. - Testing and experimentation with pages is possible but this is made difficult by the lack of documentation and the fact that a debugger for pages does not exist. (
    I really miss a debugger!)

    I imagine that documentation will continue to trickle out and some of the blogs that are coming out of MS are very helpful. However, my biggest hope is that with the lifting of the NDAs that the on-line forums will now start to become a place where we can really accelerate our learning.

    One correction we have debugger for NAV 2009, just don't think anybody have talked about this yet. Maybe this would be a good topic for my next Blog post?
    Claus Lundstrøm | MVP | Senior Product Manager | Continia.com
    I'm blogging here:http://mibuso.com/blogs/clausl and used to blog here: http://blogs.msdn.com/nav
    I'm also offering RDLC Report Training, ping me if you are interested. Thanks to the 700 NAV developers that have now already been at my training. You know you can always call if you have any RDLC report issues :-)
  • WaldoWaldo Posts: 3,412Member
    clausl wrote:
    jreynolds wrote:
    I’ve been working with pages for several months now and while I miss many of the things that were possible with forms I’m starting to learn about and appreciate some of the new things that can be done with pages. My biggest frustration has been the enormous amount of time required to learn how to develop pages. With forms we have had a number of techniques available to us.
      - The Application Designer’s Guide contains several sections on forms. - There are instructor led and self study courses available for developers. - Help exists for all of the controls, properties, and triggers available for forms. - Online communities like MIBUSO where questions can be asked and seen (and answered) by hundreds of experienced developers around the world. - Study and examine the forms that are in the system. - Testing and experimentation with form controls, properties, and triggers.

    Unfortunately for pages these have been severely limited or are non-existent although that is starting to change somewhat.
      - The Application Designer's Guide is being delivered as a help file and is starting to include information on pages but it is still very much a work in progress: - There are no instructor led or self study courses that I am aware of. - Help is starting to be delivered for controls and properties, but like the ADG it is still a work in progress. - Prior to the release of the marketing beta we were bound by NDA's to avoid discussing these topics in forums like MIBUSO. - Studying the existing pages is possible. However, since all of the pages have been created by a transformation process of forms into pages, the existing pages do not exploit all of the capabilities of pages. - Testing and experimentation with pages is possible but this is made difficult by the lack of documentation and the fact that a debugger for pages does not exist. (
    I really miss a debugger!)

    I imagine that documentation will continue to trickle out and some of the blogs that are coming out of MS are very helpful. However, my biggest hope is that with the lifting of the NDAs that the on-line forums will now start to become a place where we can really accelerate our learning.

    One correction we have debugger for NAV 2009, just don't think anybody have talked about this yet. Maybe this would be a good topic for my next Blog post?
    Yes please :)

    Eric Wauters
    MVP - Microsoft Dynamics NAV
    My blog
  • gvolkovgvolkov Posts: 196Member
    how did you start the RTC? i am trying to start it with default server name 'localhost/DynamicsNAV' but it says nothing found.
    Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist
    Microsoft Certified Business Management Solutions Professional
    Microsoft Certified Business Management Solutions Specialist
    http://www.navisiontech.com
  • p.willemse6p.willemse6 Posts: 216Member
    edited 2008-10-02
    We've been in te TAP program for a while now, and have been working on a customer site with NAV 2009. I can tell you that every eomployee of our company wanted and still wants to be part of this team. They keep becoming more enthousiastic about the different possiblities of the new client. But, you have to be open minded to change your way of work at some points. It seems that at least one of our co-posters does not seem to do so, although I see a little difference in the last post....

    The screen above were like the screens we built back in the year 2000 at NAV 2.60. There are many possibilities to set up different screens, and design a more efficient way to work...
  • wwestendorpwwestendorp Posts: 178Member
    I see in some client roles nice charts.
    How can I create a new chart and how to add them to that chart list? Via MS Visual Studio and save as ???
  • BeliasBelias Posts: 2,993Member
    i have 2 dev licenses, both valid. (one has recently been refreshed because of a new add-on of our company).
    well...the older works and the new one does not. :-k
    -Mirko-
    "Never memorize what you can easily find in a book".....Or Mibuso
    My Blog
  • wwestendorpwwestendorp Posts: 178Member
    The same here.
    I requesed a new license via CLT, lets wait if the new license allows me to creeate new pages.
    Currently with my 5.1 developer licens it is not possible.
  • ara3nara3n Posts: 9,241Member
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer


    blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
  • philippegirodphilippegirod Posts: 190Member
    And for Clients (user of Navision) is there a way to download this release ?
    (Our NSC refuse to provide us, as they refused to provide us the 5.0 version. I think they don't even know how to obtain it).
    My candle burns by both ends, it will not last the night,
    But oh my foes and oh my friends, it gives a lovely light
  • BeliasBelias Posts: 2,993Member
    no, customers can't obtain marketing beta release...
    why?
    1. it is a beta release, which means it is not the final version, so there can be bugs and/or lackness of features
    2. it is for partners only, in order to show the product to customers for marketing purpose and learn the new features (that are a lot)
    -Mirko-
    "Never memorize what you can easily find in a book".....Or Mibuso
    My Blog
  • BeliasBelias Posts: 2,993Member
    BlackTiger wrote:
    IMHO, not quite correct. It's "MarketingBeta". So, by my understanding, "customers" can't download and use it, but NSC can demonstrate NAV2009 features to some customers.
    Correct me if I'm wrong.
    you're correct, but the initial question was
    And for Clients (user of Navision) is there a way to download this release ?
    :mrgreen:
    anyway...
    BTW... What if company name contains national characters?
    i was thinking...do I have to restart my pc, if i want to see pages in cyrillic (for example)?
    In the classic client, we must do it in order to acces db...but with pages?
    and as you say, how can we type the company name without the right characters?copy and paste symbols from word? :shock:
    -Mirko-
    "Never memorize what you can easily find in a book".....Or Mibuso
    My Blog
  • DenSterDenSter Posts: 8,134Member
    BlackTiger wrote:
    I want to stay in Edinburgh, I love this city... I hate crossroads...
    Yeah Edinburgh is cool, been there a couple of times, lots of roundabouts *scottish accent*
  • BeliasBelias Posts: 2,993Member
    BlackTiger wrote:
    DenSter wrote:
    BlackTiger wrote:
    I want to stay in Edinburgh, I love this city... I hate crossroads...
    Yeah Edinburgh is cool, been there a couple of times, lots of roundabouts *scottish accent*

    No, no! Under "crossroads" I mean "decision making" process like stone with following text
    - go to the left and lose your horse
    - go to the right and lose your live
    - go forward and hit a stone by your stupid head

    PS: Scottish accent... Each planet has Scotland... :)

    well...i think i'll go back...
    -Mirko-
    "Never memorize what you can easily find in a book".....Or Mibuso
    My Blog
  • kinekine Posts: 12,562Member
    BlackTiger wrote:
    Look. Here is how maximized(!) Sales Order entry form looks on 1280x800:
    2906228843_3f0d75694d.jpg?v=0
    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3218/2906228843_8a5ca0c04c_o.jpg

    1. No way to resize "Lines" section.
    2. No way to navigate between "tabs" without a mouse (forget about standard "Ctrl+PgDn/Ctrl+PgUp" combinations).
    3. Many areas are not accessible by keyboard.

    Also just compare areas used by "old fashioned" TabControl's "labels" and the new "cool one". No... unfortunately UI is not MS' strongest side...

    And "The Ribbon"... Such a wasting of space... Yes, it looks nice, but... completely useless in terms of screen space optimization. BTW, how to change ribbon's colour? Where is "big button" like I can see in Excel and Word?

    So don't forget to include minimum monitor resolution 1280x1024 in hardware specs.

    Do not forget that you can hide whole FastTabs through the "Customize this..." and make mre space for line fasttab etc... because how many people needs all the fasttabs?
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • kinekine Posts: 12,562Member
    BlackTiger wrote:
    Ok.
    Just tested national characters in company name (not "Company Information"!).
    Of course, it always was a bad idea to use non-latin characters in company name (like in any "Code" field). But it works. So if company is "CRONUS Россия" (russian) then you can use "CRONUS_Россия" in WS' URL (personally I don't like national characters in URLs).

    PS:
    Even NAV2009 W1 has problems with Russian letter "a"... 21st century!

    The background is still same, it means same problems like in classic client... until the background (the DB communication libraries) will be replaced with something better, there will be no change.
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • kinekine Posts: 12,562Member
    The UseDefaultCredentials is property, which sets the WebService connection to use actual Account to authenticate with the WebService. The user which will run the application must have access into NAV defined in common way...
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • kinekine Posts: 12,562Member
    My Example:
    NAV2009_Customer.Customer_Service service;
    NAV2009_Customer.Customer customer;
    
    service = new NAV2009_Customer.Customer_Service();
    service.UseDefaultCredentials = true;
    
    customer = new NAV2009_Customer.Customer();
    customer.Address = addressTextBox.Text;
    customer.Name=nameTextBox.Text;
    service.Create(ref customer);
    noTextBox.Text = customer.No;
    

    Where NAV2009_Customer is the name of WebReference and Customer is name of the webservice in NAV.
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • kinekine Posts: 12,562Member
    see this blog...
    2) This step depends a bit on whether you use VS2005 or 2008. In VS2005, just rightclick on "References" in the Solution Explorer, and select "Add Web Reference". In VS2008, to get to the same place, rightclick on "References", then select "Add Service Reference", then click the Advanced button, and then click the "Add Web Reference" button.
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • kinekine Posts: 12,562Member
    BlackTiger wrote:
    Yes, thank you. I've found already...

    Eah... Unfortunately there is nothing better than Microsoft tools for development...
    Why? Tell me, why? Why to tell "we are using WCF" if actually "result" isn't compatible with... WCF itself?

    PS: Will links to several "blogs" replace documentation and manuals for future products? What if I will not have access to the internet? Project will die?
    These days yes... without internet you are already dead... :mrgreen:

    And do not forget that documentation is not finished yet, because the product is not released... :wink:
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Jens_M-PJens_M-P Posts: 39Member, Microsoft Employee
    BlackTiger wrote:
    Look. Here is how maximized(!) Sales Order entry form looks on 1280x800:
    2906228843_3f0d75694d.jpg?v=0
    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3218/2906228843_8a5ca0c04c_o.jpg

    1. No way to resize "Lines" section.
    2. No way to navigate between "tabs" without a mouse (forget about standard "Ctrl+PgDn/Ctrl+PgUp" combinations).
    3. Many areas are not accessible by keyboard.

    Also just compare areas used by "old fashioned" TabControl's "labels" and the new "cool one". No... unfortunately UI is not MS' strongest side...

    And "The Ribbon"... Such a wasting of space... Yes, it looks nice, but... completely useless in terms of screen space optimization. BTW, how to change ribbon's colour? Where is "big button" like I can see in Excel and Word?

    So don't forget to include minimum monitor resolution 1280x1024 in hardware specs.

    First post here on mibuso, so I hope the images will turn out right.
    Just wanted to mention that you can set the 'Importance' property on controls in the page designer. Doing that for a few fields in the Sales Order - General section gives you the following page at runtime:

    Hitting the 'Show More Fields' gives you:

    If you don't want to change this in the metadata for the page, then the user can also select 'Customize This Page' in the top right corner, select the 'Fast Tabs' group, highligt the 'General' group and invoke the 'Customize Fast Tab...' button - leading to the page:

    From this page the user can hide fields and / or set the importance of fields.

    BTW - try hitting 'F6' to move to the next FastTab

    Hope that it helps
    Best regards,
    Jens Møller-Pedersen [MSFT]

    This posting is provided 'AS IS' with no warranties, and confers no rights.
  • clauslclausl Posts: 455Member
    As requested by Waldo earlier in this thread, I have now added an example on how to debug in NAV 2009 to my blog: http://blogs.msdn.com/clausl

    Regards,
    Claus
    Claus Lundstrøm | MVP | Senior Product Manager | Continia.com
    I'm blogging here:http://mibuso.com/blogs/clausl and used to blog here: http://blogs.msdn.com/nav
    I'm also offering RDLC Report Training, ping me if you are interested. Thanks to the 700 NAV developers that have now already been at my training. You know you can always call if you have any RDLC report issues :-)
  • ara3nara3n Posts: 9,241Member
    You can run your own service tier on your computer. It doesn't need to be the server service tier.
    You only would use it in extreme cases.
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer


    blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
  • kinekine Posts: 12,562Member
    Thank Claus! Very good article... everybody will once need that...
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • ajhvdbajhvdb Posts: 672Member
    [quote="BlackTiger
    Thanks Micr... Claus... Now our live became a lot easier... ish... Just 24 steps! Easy! And VisualStudio... on server...[/quote]
    LOL, small steps...
  • clabandclaband Posts: 26Member, Microsoft Employee
    You can run as many NAV Servers on a single box as you'd like (theoretically!). each of them will take it's own amount of memory and run it its own process being connected to different (or same) databases.

    /Claus
    Claus Busk Andersen
    Program Manager
    Microsoft Dynamics NAV
Sign In or Register to comment.