Navision ERP business process-how good it is..

johnson_alonsojohnson_alonso Member Posts: 690
edited 2006-05-23 in General Chat
Dear All,
I am currently passing the manufacturing exam, after passing it, I was in euforia and feel high, but it's just 3 days. I am involved in Navision since June 20... I've got 3 months tuberculoses and in vacation because of that.
Before moving into Navision, I am an industrial engineer in manufacturing company and chemical engineer too, I am a graduate in chemical engineering. ERP is really good system, but how good navision ERP based on ERP business process, and how good the consultants (technical/business) have good knowledge on it (ERP generally and Navision ERP). I saw that Navision consultants here only create/maintain report/created daily, other busy for maintain relationship with old customer that want to upgrade their navision and add some new modules that beforehand not yet added. I mean, how could this happened ? Are the other NSC around the world also doing this ? Is there any different ? Can you share to me ?

Rgds,
Johnson

Comments

• ShenpenShenpen Member Posts: 386
    I am not completely sure I understood correctly what you are asking, but Navision from a business processes viewpoint I think is mixed.

For Manufacturing, my first implementation was a candle factory and it didn't really fit. However, I presented Navision Manufacturing to the Transportation Engineering professors of the local university, they became quite fascinated, they said that those manufacturing companies who use CNC lathes etc. so they work with metals and manufacture machinery with it, are exactly working this way and it will fit perfectly.

For warehouse, I think Navision presents the best practices - but one needs to understand the strange terminoligy - for example, a warehouse shipment is actually what companies call Freight Route Document.