Options

What do you do for a living?

Alex_ChowAlex_Chow Member Posts: 5,063
edited 2006-04-17 in General Chat
I'm a Navision consultant that's well advsed in sales, implementation, programming, training, etc, etc.

When I go to cocktail parties or dinner parties, I usually have a hardtime explaining to people what I do. It's not a general profession as if you can you're a dentist, lawyer, accountant, etc.

I don't use the term "consultant" that much since the term has been overused by fresh college graduates calling themselves consultants when they get hired into the Big 5 companies.

Right now, I tell people I'm a programmer, but that seems to dumb down what we do. However, getting into details ususally bores them to death.

How would you introduce your profession in 30 seconds?

Comments

• Options
    DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,304
    I usually tell people that I am a software developer working with a Microsoft ERP system. If they don't lose me right there (which usually happens) I will explain more. I try never to use the word 'programmer' for myself. Most people not in this business don't realize or appreciate the diversity of this job though.
  • Options
    SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    I'm a Navision consultant that's well advsed in sales, implementation, programming, training, etc, etc.

How About,

Hi, I'm a one man army. Bring me all your women! :lol:

It's even harder for me - I don't even know what I do. I mean today people usually have to wear so many hats which one do you pick?

Hi, I'm a Accountant, manufactuer, tech advisor, shipping agent, security manager, electrician & plumber. Now on tuesdays, I'm a .........

So I'm sticking with the "One man Army" thingy :mrgreen:
    or your "Friendly Neighborhood MacGyver"

Depends on the situation :-$
  • Options
    Yeah, but saying you're a one man army usually means you're a "know it all". And nobody likes a know-it-all. :mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:
  • Options