NAV2015 C/AL - How do i pass parameters from a table to a user function

MagicmanMagicman Member Posts: 13
Hi all and a happy new year :-) I'm by no means new to NAV but i'm just beginning with application development and as such i am 'fighting' with C/AL. :-)
I have an easy question which i cant seem to solve no matter what I do.

I have a function 'Addnums' that has two parameters 'NrIn1' and 'NrIn2' and a result 'NrOut'. The function is simply 'NrOut := (NrIn1+NrIn2);'. This function resides in a codeunit. I also have a table that contains three integer fields 'NrI1', 'NrI2' and 'NrO'. The OnValidate trigger of Field 'NrI2' contains the function call 'NrO := Nums.AddNums(NrI1,NrI2);' - 'Nums' represents the variable (type Codeunit, Subtype Addnums) for the function 'Addnums'.

My problem is, that the integers i enter in NRI1and NrI2 are not being passed to the function and i can't for the life of me see what i am doing wrong :-(

Can someone kindly put me on the right track?

Thanks in advance :-)

M.

Best Answer

• ShaiHuludShaiHulud Member Posts: 228
    Answer ✓
    Ah, there's your answer - in OnValidate trigger of field NrI2 you have local variables NrI1 and NrI2. So, you end up passing those variables (which have default value of 0) into the function, not the field values.
    Delete the local variables from the trigger and you should be good to go.

Answers

• lubostlubost Member Posts: 611
    What your function AddNums looks like?
  • MagicmanMagicman Member Posts: 13
    Hi lubost :-)

The function consists only of the following:

NrOut := (NrIn1+NrIn2);

If I replace NrIn1 and NrIn2 with integers (e.g. 1 and 2) then the correct return value is passed back to the call and the field NrO is updated to '3'.....
    I just can't seem to join the fields of the table with the input parameters of the function:-(
    - Function header is important too, not only content