Event Sequence - update field on modify and insert

markclemarkcle Member Posts: 65
Hi All

Finalizing my first extension and stuck on one thing.

For certain shipping methods we have to add a freight line (non inventory item) and calc freight as percent of total order value. The percent is a unit price for each customer (e.g. 0.1 = 10%) and we put the order total in qty, so if Order is $1000, freight is $100

I have a subscription to change in Ship method and can insert the line with correct Qty (order total)

I also have a subscription on sales lines, so that if a sales line amount changes and there is a freight line, it will recalculate the total (calls a proc in a code unit)
[EventSubscriber(ObjectType::Table, Database::"Sales Line", 'OnAfterModifyEvent', '', true, true)]

I have one use case that doesn't work: The user inserts all line items and at the end, MANUALLY adds the freight line

I subscribed to the SalesLineAfterInsert, which calls my proc in the codeunit
    [EventSubscriber(ObjectType::Table, Database::"Sales Line", 'OnAfterInsertEvent', '', true, true)]
    var
        // Assign SLO variable to codeunit of SalesLineOperarions
        SLO: Codeunit SalesLineOperations;
        OrderTotal: decimal;

begin
         // Check if this is a FREIGHT line
         if rec."No." = 'FCOM' then begin
            SLO.UpdateFCOMQty(rec);
         end;
   end;

Here's my Proc
  procedure UpdateFCOMQty(var Rec: Record "Sales Line")
    // This is called whenever a sales line is modified or inserted
    // Checks if there's an FCOM record
    // If there is one, sum all the non-freight lines before tax and set this as QTY on FCOM
    var
        OrderTotal: decimal;
        FreightSalesLine: record "Sales Line";
    begin

// See if there are any FCOM lines. if so, calc total before tax and freight
        FreightSalesLine.SETRANGE("Document Type", Rec."Document Type");
        FreightSalesLine.SETRANGE("Document No.", Rec."Document No.");