Options

Preventative maintenance in Navision

mark_christsmark_christs Member Posts: 156
Dear All,
I am currently studying service management. In a demoscript service management, in page 16, I read as follows:
Along with the outcomes reporting, the application helps you to register what kind of damage occurred, which symptom and where the fault it was, as well as the different faults on items and how you solved them. You can use this important information to identify the most frequent faults on items and eventually plan preventative maintenance.

So, it seems navision can handle preventative maintenance, however in www.wikipedia.org (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preventative_Maintenance) , I've read as follows:
Preventive maintenance (PM) has the following meanings:
The care and servicing by personnel for the purpose of maintaining equipment and facilities in satisfactory operating condition by providing for systematic inspection, detection, and correction of incipient failures either before they occur or before they develop into major defects.
Maintenance, including tests, measurements, adjustments, and parts replacement, performed specifically to prevent faults from occurring.

Could you explain to me what are the functionality regarding to the wikipedia statement, I mean in service management, I could use what tables or form to conduct the preventative maintenance..?
I expected your answer so much. tku

Rgds,
mark

Comments

• Options
    ufukufuk Member Posts: 514
    You can use Service Order Type to classify a maintenance as preventative. Then you can select this type in Service contract. You can also fill in the service period required for the preventative maintenance.

Then you can select the appropriate service items in the lines and assign troubleshooting as a standart check-list.

You can see all the tables of these forms in the related source explorers.

Hope, this will help you.

Best Regards

Ufuk
    Ufuk Asci
    Pargesoft
  • Options
    Hi Ufuk,