AutoSplitKey problem

Hi,

I'm still new to NAV...

I would like to change the sorting of page 1007 ("Job Planning Lines) to be "Job No.,Job Task No.,Planning Date, Line No." descending. So I add "Planning Date" in the primary key of table 1003 ("Job Planning Lines") and add the key on page 1007 property SourceTableView and setting it to "Descending".

It works fine, but when the user presses "New", NAV shows the error "The lines cannot be split".

How do I sort the lines the way I want, without causing problems for the "New" functionallity?

Best Answer

Answers

• Slawek_GuzekSlawek_Guzek Member Posts: 1,690
    Do not change the primary key on any table without knowing exactly what are you doing and what are the consequences of your action. That rule, by the way, applies not only to NAV, but to any application.

Why didn't you just click the Planning Date on the Job Planning Lines page when you needed them to be displayed in the Planning Date order?

Slawek Guzek
    Dynamics NAV, MS SQL Server, Wherescape RED;
    PRINCE2 Practitioner - License GR657010572SG
    GDPR Certified Data Protection Officer - PECB License DPCDPO1025070-2018-03
  • MortenSteengaardMortenSteengaard Member Posts: 130
    The customer is tired of always clicking on the column header "Planning Date" whenever she opens the window.
    edited 2018-11-20
    You do not need to modify any key on the Job Planning Lines table to achieve that (not even mentioning the PK change). Just set the desired sorting order in PageView property, or add a line of code with SETCURRENKEY to the OnOpen page trigger

Having said that - this is a prime example of when to say NO to customer's request to modify the system. What if you have another user in future, also using Planning Lines, and they want different default display order, because they are also "too tired to make one click"?