Options

Running on old code?

This question is concerning NAV 2009.

I have a form that calls a "Processing Only" report. The report calls a codeunit.

My customer has reported an error. I can reproduce the error again and again by pressing a button in the form.

If I add messages in the codeunit, I can still reproduce the error, but I don't get the messages.

If I add messages in the report, I get the messages from the report and the messages from the codeunit, but I cannot reproduce the error.

Am I running on old code in the report until I add messages in it?

Is there a difference between F11 (Compile) in the Object Designer without opening the object, and when I add a message and save and compile the report?

(My customer and a former colleague has told, that my customer now and then has to press F11 in the Object Designer in order to make this part of NAV work. Until now I haven't heard why this should be necessary.)

I hope someone can help me. I'm quite new to NAV.

Best Answer

• Options
    MortenSteengaardMortenSteengaard Member Posts: 131
    Answer ✓
    Hi everybody.

Thank you very much for your reply!

Now I have learned that the report didn't change behaviour because it ran on old code and later on on new code. The problem was that the same report was used with a user-made filter running on many objects, and the report was also used on a single object in another form. The problem was that when I first run on many objects with a specific filter, that filter is saved and used when I run the same report from the form with the single object. And then it acts very weird.

And when I then compile the report, NAV deletes the old user-made filter on that report. And that makes the report change behaviour, so it works correct on the form with only one object.

Once again, thank you very much!

Answers

• Options
    HatchetHarryHatchetHarry Member Posts: 24
    what is the error?
  • Options
    Remco_ReinkingRemco_Reinking Member Posts: 74