Insert sales Header and Lines from sql database

baduganbadugan Member Posts: 6
edited 2018-09-18 in NAV Three Tier
Hi, I am a SQL developer and I am tasked with inserting Sales Header and Lines from a SQL database into Navision 2017. It's an in house database that records staff orders on a different server that then needs to be bought into Navision as Sales Header and Lines..

This custom database is written in c# .net

How do I go about this please? Is there any step by step guide that I could follow?

Any help would be appreciated.

Navision 2017 and SQL Server 2016

Harry

Answers

• KTA8KTA8 Member Posts: 388
    The recommend way to insert data is through rapid start services. I don't think is there any guide to do it through SQL at least an official one.
  • AKAK Member Posts: 226
    Never do something like that. I mean it. It's bad.
    You'll bypass all of the business logic and may end up shredding those tables. The correct way to do it (if rapid start isn't an option) is writing to a buffer table and let NAV populate the desired tables itself via job queue reading that buffer table.
  • baduganbadugan Member Posts: 6
    Thanks for the replies. I understand it's not wise to write directly to NAV via SQL.. hence the question here. What about using web services.. is there some tutorial that I can learn from.. can't seem to find anything informative that I can follow.. using an exposed Sales Order Web Service (SOAP) and a c# .NET app to be able to create those sales orders. All the related data for Sales order is held in custom database.. how can I use SOAP to trigger inserting a NAV Sales Order with that data.. any idea or pointers will be appreciated.
    Alternatively, is there any tutorial that I could use for Rapid Start Services? If it is any different from Web services
  • AKAK Member Posts: 226
    If you enter "Nav 2017 web services" in google, you'll find this right at the top. And they would do the job also.