How to run a Batch file (.bat) in Navision

sliewsliew Member Posts: 31
edited 2002-05-27 in Navision Financials
Hi,

I have a batch file that appends several files together. I would like to call it in a code unit.
I used the SHELL function, but the only problem is that I have no result from the batch.

can someone explain to me how can I run a .bat file and tell Navision to wait until the task has ended.
Thanks a lot

SL

Comments

  • Luc_VanDyckLuc_VanDyck Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 3,633
    You can use the SHELL function, with a return value. Navision will start the batch routine and wait until it's finished, if you call the SHELL function like this:

    retvalue := SHELL('c:\temp\runme.bat');

    <small>[ 26-05-2002, 09:22: Message edited by: Luc Van Dyck ]</small>
    No support using PM or e-mail - Please use this forum. BC TechDays 2024: 13 & 14 June 2024, Antwerp (Belgium)
  • sliewsliew Member Posts: 31
    Thanks Luc.
  • kamalRawatkamalRawat Member Posts: 2
    Hi,

    I am using mention code in nav 2016 I face error could not find file on path

    " WshShell.Start('C:\WINDOWS\system32\FTP.EXE '+Argument+'>'+
    SourceRoot + 'log\' + 'log_export_'+NextEntryNo+ '.txt');
  • Wisa123Wisa123 Member Posts: 308
    1.) Please don't use shellscripts/bat in nav 2016, those days are way over
    If you want to use FTP in nav 2016 look for built-in functions or do it in .NET
    2.) Please don't post in 16 year old - prehistoric threads.
    Austrian NAV/BC Dev
  • mucamuca Member Posts: 42
    edited 2018-05-17
    @Wisa123
    1) we talk about Navision Financials. In Financials You also can use variables with DataType=Automation.
    2) Unlike Microsoft, here you can also get support for older navision versions.
  • Wisa123Wisa123 Member Posts: 308
    muca wrote: »
    @Wisa123
    1) we talk about Navision Financials. In Financials You also can use variables with DataType=Automation.
    2) Unlike Microsoft, here you can also get support for older navision versions.
    kamalRawat wrote: »
    Hi,

    I am using mention code in nav 2016 I face error could not find file on path

    " WshShell.Start('C:\WINDOWS\system32\FTP.EXE '+Argument+'>'+
    SourceRoot + 'log\' + 'log_export_'+NextEntryNo+ '.txt');

    ...

    Austrian NAV/BC Dev
Sign In or Register to comment.