Options

problem with the data binding for Control Add-In

Jutta_JordansJutta_Jordans Member Posts: 4
edited 2011-02-01 in NAV Three Tier
Hi,

I'm totally new to Navision, so I might just make a dumb mistake here. ](*,)

I am developing a Control Add-In for use with the RTC to display a tree control (we have a tree control for the classic client, but since that uses a COM object, I cannot reuse this for the RTC, I think).

I build the C# add, registered it as Client Add-In, attached it to a field on a page and it is displayed correctly. I can also send events from my Control to the OnControlAddIn trigger. So far so good.

Now I want to get data from my RTC to the Control (otherwise I have an empty tree control which is a pretty boring thing). I read in the documentation that binding a global variable or function call to the SourceExpr property of the field is the way to do this. (I find this pretty limited, by the way, compared to the possibilities I had when integrating a COM object, but never mind).

So for test reasons I just bound a global string variable to my tree control and display the content of the string as text for my first tree node (doesn't make much sense, of course, but I just wanted to test the communication between my control and the RTC in a first step). I initialize the string with a global string constant.