Options

Problem in connecting RTC to Nav Server

Janu_mJanu_m Member Posts: 9
edited 2010-04-19 in NAV Three Tier
Hi Guys,

I am new to this Navision, i downloaded trial version from website 'Navision 2009 with SP1'.

I did the following:
Server: I have windows 2008 server (64 bit) with SQL server 2008 installed in it.
Installed database components first.
Installed Nav server

except these two (database components and Nav Server) no other components are installed on the server machine.

Client: Windows XP with SP3
Installed Client (Role Tailored Client).
While installing gave the Servername and port as 7046 (default port).

When I run the client from my xp machine, it asked for the server address and have like this "servername:7046/DynamicsNav" and clicked enter and i am getting this message and unable to proceed further.

"A server was not found at "net.[url=tcp://servername:7046/DynamicsNav/Service]tcp://servername:7046/DynamicsNav/Service[/url]". Either the URL is incorrect or the server is currently not available."

Am I missed anything in the process of server and client? BTW I have checked the services on the server and they are running fine.

Please help me in resolving this issue. Thanks in Advance.

Thanks and Regards
Janu

Comments

• Options
    manisharma31manisharma31 Member Posts: 285
    Try to restart the service on client machine.
    Regards,
    Manish
  • Options
    Thank you very much Manisharma for the reply.

I installed Client only on my XP machine. I checked the services but i didn't find any services related to Navision. Shall I need to do any other steps to get the Navision services on client machine?

Thanks in Advance.

Thanks and Regards
    Janu
  • Options
    rdebathrdebath Member Posts: 383
    The error message is a generic one and could be caused by many things including: firewalls, error connecting to database, missing database, missing DLLs, etc etc.

Question 1: Does the classic client connect?