Options

Table Split - FileGroup

AngeloAngelo Member Posts: 180
edited 2008-02-13 in SQL Performance
Hi Master,

How to make table split and assign in filegroup? Please guide me step by step?

thx,
Angelo

Comments

  • Options
    Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    Please do not go that way.

    Why are you thinking this is a solution?

    What you will end up with is transactions waiting for filegroups to be ready. I've seen this many many times and always put it back. This is a very painfull process.

    How big is your database? How many end users do you have? What kind of transactions do they make? What modules do you use?

    Have you looked at transaction posting speed? How much overhead do unused indexes cause you? Have to removed them already?

    Anyway. Good luck.
  • Options
    AngeloAngelo Member Posts: 180
    Hi Mark,

    I have read "tuning navision for better performance" and I have seen the webcast video from Hynek. I compare with my server system because the performance is very bad. All area run slowly especially in Warehouse activities and Sales activities. So, my first step is from HW configuration and the second step is SW(application) side.

    My System :
    Windows 2003 Enterprise Manager
    SQL 2000 Standard Edition
    Dual core 3.2Ghz(4 CPU)

    HDD
    SCSI, 15K RPM
    RAID 0 ( 2 disk) for OS and SQL, Drive C only. Total 73GB
    RAID 10 (3 disk) for LOG and Database (5 log file, 1 mdf file, 1 ndf file), Drive D only,Total 205GB

    Memory 6GB
    Citrix Metaframe
    Navision 4.0 SP1

    My Recommendation :
    ***CPU :
    No Recommendataion

    *** Memory :
    using /3GB /PAE swicth and enable AWE

    *** RAID I
    C : for O/S, Swap File, SQL
    D : for Temp DB
    E - F : for LOG File

    *** RAID 1+0
    H-J : for mdf and ndf file

    My Questions :
    1. For Memory, how much "max server memory" that I have to use for enabling AWE?My memory only 6GB

    2. For HDD,
    How much GB that I have to assign to TempDB? put it in one disk with O/S and SQL?
    How much GB that I have to assign to each LOG File?
    Should I make each disk for each Drive?(I mean E-F drive use 3 disks) or
    I just using 1 disk and make 3 partition (E-F).which one is better?
    If using 3 disks, How much GB that I have to use for each disk? one log file for one disk?
    How many ndf (filegroup) that I have to make?

    I hope my questions is for knowledge to another people who have same problem with me. Please advise....[-o<

    regards,
    Angelo
  • Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    SQL 2000 Standard Edition

    This is the main source of your problem. This version of SQL can use just 2GB of RAM - NO MORE! It means that /AWE and /3GB switches will not help you!

    As first step you need to think about using another version of SQL. e.g. SQL 2005 Standard 64bit or higher. But it depends on count of users and size of DB, which you didn't mentioned.
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    AngeloAngelo Member Posts: 180
    session until now is 80 sessions and Licensed session is 101.
    Ok, let say I have change the SQL version, would you mind answering my questions? [-o<

    rgds,
    Angelo
  • Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    2-4GB RAM - /3GB in OS
    >4GB RAM - /PAE /3GB in OS, /AWE in SQL
    >16GB RAM - /PAE in OS, /AWE in SQL


    TEMP db is better to keep on separate disk (mainly in SQL 2005)
    Log file size depends on your backup policy
    Do not use "logical disc". It is better to have one physical disc as a one logical disc.
    NDF has nothing with filegroups. Use just the filegroups created by default, you can just add more files to cover all available discs (each DB file on separate physical disc/volume)
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    AngeloAngelo Member Posts: 180
    I have enabled /PAE and /3GB then

    when I enable AWE using this SP :

    sp_configure 'show advanced options', 1
    RECONFIGURE
    sp_configure 'min server memory', 0
    RECONFIGURE
    sp_configure 'max server memory', 2147483647( I'm doubt of this value)
    RECONFIGURE

    How much 'max server memory' that I have to set? any suggestion?

    rgds,
    Angelo
  • Options
    WaldoWaldo Member Posts: 3,412
    I always reserve a fixed number of GB for my server(s). So, minimum and maximum the same.

    In your case (if it's a dedicated server), I would go for 5Gb. The other 1Gb is for OS and stuff.

    YOu should monitor your server to see whether you can assign more or you should assign less... .

    Eric Wauters
    MVP - Microsoft Dynamics NAV
    My blog
  • Options
    Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    Move to SQL2005 x64.

    This is a difference compared to SQL2000 like day and night.

    You might run into some issues where SQL2005 takes the wrong index but that is solvable.

    I have done many customers on SQL, some with 100+ user up until 600.

    16GB usually is enough to hold transaction data in memory.

    Consider a DAS storrage with 16 disks like you can buy at HP's these days on the 3x and 5x series.
  • Options
    WaldoWaldo Member Posts: 3,412
    Please elaborate more on the DAS storage... :) .

    Eric Wauters
    MVP - Microsoft Dynamics NAV
    My blog
  • Options
    Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    DAS means Direct attached storage.

    Since SAS disks are much smaller, they can fit up to 16 disks in a server. This means you don't need an external storage anymore to get more reading speed on your system.

    You can use 16 15k 73GB disks and configure it like this:

    * 1x RAID 1 for OS + BACKUP (Make 2 partitions)
    * 1x RAID 1 for Log
    * 1x RAID 1 for TempDB
    * 1x RAID 10 (10 Disks!) for Data

    This is a resonably cheap solution compared to external storages.

    16GB of RAM will cost you about 1600 euro's.

    For failover you can use log shipping to the test machine. I recommend always using a separate test box.

    I have customers with over 150 users on this config.

    The 300+ user systems are generally using EMC/NetApp or EVA sans.
  • Options
    bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268
    Angelo wrote:
    Hi Mark,


    HDD
    SCSI, 15K RPM
    RAID 0 ( 2 disk) for OS and SQL, Drive C only. Total 73GB
    RAID 10 (3 disk) for LOG and Database (5 log file, 1 mdf file, 1 ndf file), Drive D only,Total 205GB

    RAID 0 on the OS (no protection for drive failures)?

    A 3 disk RAID 10? How's that?
    There are no bugs - only undocumented features.
  • Options
    AngeloAngelo Member Posts: 180
    bbrown,
    Yes, that is not so good configuration. That's why I need suggestion from this forum to make it better.

    Mark,
    you said 10 disk for database file. Thats mean I have to make many filegroups(ndf file)? for example,
    nav.ndf is assigned in disk1
    nav.ndf1 assigned in disk 2
    nav.ndf2 assigned in disk 3,so forth.

    for log file is it OK if I put only in 1 disk ?

    Pls advice....
  • Options
    Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    No, the 10 disks are in RAID 10 so it is one logical drive.

    Just put the datafile on that RAID.

    I am not sure if you can configure 10 disks on 1 controler. I have to dig into that.

    Remember, it is not the drivespace you need, but the # of spindles.
  • Options
    AngeloAngelo Member Posts: 180
    Mark,

    ok,you said just only one logical data file.
    I ever heard that making more that one ndf file will improve improvement?is it right?
    we do that also with our log file.

    rdgs,
    Angelo
  • Options
    Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    I only have one customer with that and that is because their database is to large.

    The wins in those things, if any, make your system so complex that it's not worth it.

    There is so much more to win in the application.
  • Options
    bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268
    Angelo wrote:
    Mark,

    ok,you said just only one logical data file.
    I ever heard that making more that one ndf file will improve improvement?is it right?
    we do that also with our log file.

    rdgs,
    Angelo

    Mutliple data files will only show an improvement if they are each on their own physical drive. You would probably find no advantage to having 5 - 10 GB files (each on it's own RAID 1) vs. 1 50 GB file on a single 10 disk RAID 10. In both cases the same number of spindles is servicing the data.

    There are 2 areas where filesplitting may be considered. 1) When the disk requirements exceed the physical capacity of the hardware. In other words, you want to use more disk then 1 array will support. 2) The I/O demand is greater then 1 array can support. I would not consider either one of these to be my first performance tuning move when it comes to Navision.
    There are no bugs - only undocumented features.
  • Options
    bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268
    Question: (I haven't had my coffe yet)

    Are we talking about multiple datafiles in a single filegroup, or each in its own filegroup? These are very different and have different applications.
    There are no bugs - only undocumented features.
  • Options
    krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,089
    [Topic moved from Navision forum to SQL Performance forum]
    Regards,Alain Krikilion
    No PM,please use the forum. || May the <SOLVED>-attribute be in your title!


Sign In or Register to comment.