Options

Sorting column in ExcelBuffer NAV2018

Aurore999Aurore999 Member Posts: 3
Hi everyone,

I'm new with dynamics NAV and I'm currently working on an Excel export using ExcelBuffer. I would like to know if it's possible to sort data in ExcelBuffer based on a specific column. My problem is that I need to process data from several sources and have calculated data on which I have to sort. So I can't sort on my datasource directly.

My code is something like this :

excelbuffer.createbook(...);
if myRecord.findset then begin
repeat
    entercell(data from myRecord);
    calculate myDate which is based on data from myRecord and another data source
    entercell(myDate);
until myRecord.next = 0;
end;

//need to sort excelbuffer on myDate

excelbuffer.writesheet(...);
excelbuffer.closebook;
excelbuffer.openexcel;
excelbuffer.giveusercontrol;

We are working with NAV2018 and VS Code

Thank you

Aurore

Answers

• Options
    RockWithNAVRockWithNAV Member Posts: 1,139
    Do you want to sort it out from NAV itself?
  • Options
    Thanks for your reply RockWithNAV,
    Yes the idea is to sort the ExcelBuffer on a specific column before calling function writesheet

Aurore
  • Options
    krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,096
    [Topic moved from 'NAV/Navision Classic Client' forum to 'NAV Three Tier' forum]

Regards,Alain Krikilion
    No PM,please use the forum. || May the <SOLVED>-attribute be in your title!

• Options
    ShaiHuludShaiHulud Member Posts: 228
    Aurore999 wrote: »
    Yes the idea is to sort the ExcelBuffer on a specific column before calling function writesheet

Aurore

I would suggest writing all the data you're calculating into a temporary table, then to sort that table and then write data from that temporary table to Excel Buffer
  • Options
    ShaiHulud wrote: »

Aurore

I would suggest writing all the data you're calculating into a temporary table, then to sort that table and then write data from that temporary table to Excel Buffer