can not download AL symbol

mdsrmdsr Posts: 132Member
Hi all,
I have install BC on premises.i want to connect VS code to BC for that I added necessary info in launch.json file.i have download AL language extension.But now it giving me error while downloading AL symbol.
Could not download symbols. Please see the Visual Studio Code output log for more details.

Answers

  • SanderDkSanderDk Posts: 320Member
    Which version of BC OnPrem have you installed?
    Have you enabled developer point in your service?
    What does the VS Code output log say?
    Can you access the symbol throw powershell (Get-NAVAppInfo -ServerInstance XXXXX)?
    For help, do not use PM, but use forum instead, perhaps other people have the same question, or better answers.
  • mdsrmdsr Posts: 132Member
    edited 2019-10-10
    @SanderDk thanks for reply this is in output log of vs code
    [2019-10-10 12:00:04.07] Using reference symbols cache path: c:\Users\administrator\Documents\AL\ALProject1\./.alpackages
    [2019-10-10 12:00:04.13] Targeting server 'http://localhost' and server instance 'DynamicsNAV130'.
    [2019-10-10 12:00:04.13] Using Windows authentication.
    [2019-10-10 12:00:04.15] Sending request to http://localhost:7049/DynamicsNAV130/dev/packages?publisher=Microsoft&appName=Application&versionText=14.0.0.0
    [2019-10-10 12:00:04.17] Sending request to http://localhost:7049/DynamicsNAV130/dev/packages?publisher=Microsoft&appName=System&versionText=14.0.0.0

    also I have enable developer point in service
    stfloogud6lw.png


    i don't know which version this is of BC onprem if you know how to check please let me know
    how to access symbol through powershell?
  • SanderDkSanderDk Posts: 320Member
    Well from this I can see that your are trying to connect to a 130 but in your app.json you are using a version 14.
    This cannot be done :smile:
    For help, do not use PM, but use forum instead, perhaps other people have the same question, or better answers.
  • mdsrmdsr Posts: 132Member
    i have changed then version to 13 still unable to download symbol
  • SanderDkSanderDk Posts: 320Member
    Post your app.json and launch.json
    For help, do not use PM, but use forum instead, perhaps other people have the same question, or better answers.
  • mdsrmdsr Posts: 132Member
    edited 2019-10-10
    app.json
    
     "id": "a5eca398-dff8-473f-867b-abd60e003385",
      "name": "ALProject1",
      "publisher": "Default publisher",
      "version": "1.0.0.0",
      "brief": "first extension",
      "description": "",
      "privacyStatement": "",
      "EULA": "",
      "help": "",
      "url": "",
      "logo": "",
      "dependencies": [],
      "screenshots": [],
      "platform": "13.0.0.0",
      "application": "13.0.0.0",
      "idRanges": [
        {
          "from": 50100,
          "to": 60005
        }
      ],
      "contextSensitiveHelpUrl": "https://ALProject1.com/help/",
      "showMyCode": true,
      "runtime": "3.0"
    }
    
    launch.json
    
    {
        "version": "0.2.0",
        "configurations": [
            {
                "type": "al",
                "request": "launch",
                "name": "Your own server",
                "server": "http://localhost",
                "serverInstance": "DynamicsNAV130",
                "authentication": "Windows",
                "startupObjectId": 22,
                "startupObjectType": "Page",
                "port": 7049,
                "breakOnError": true,
                "launchBrowser": true,
                "enableLongRunningSqlStatements": true,
                "enableSqlInformationDebugger": true
            }
        ]
    }
    
  • mdsrmdsr Posts: 132Member
    @SanderDk for your info I am using Dynamics365BusinessCentral NA
  • mdsrmdsr Posts: 132Member
    edited 2019-10-11
    Can anyone help me in this case.I am running nav 2016on same machine will this affect connection of vs to bc
  • ResolusResolus Posts: 12Member
    What errors do you get from trying to download symbols?
  • SigGunnSigGunn Posts: 13Member
    I would try changing the "runtime" setting in app.json to 2.0. 3.0 is for Business Central April 2019 release (14.0)
  • mdsrmdsr Posts: 132Member
    I have changed runtime to 2.0 and versions to 13 still can not download al symbols
  • mdsrmdsr Posts: 132Member
    edited 2019-10-14
    k47f7lmh07bp.png
    This gives me following output:and AL symbols still not dowinloading
    t1q88zvopcou.png

  • ShaiHuludShaiHulud Posts: 70Member
    Is System.app published? Have application symbols been generated (run finsql.exe with "command=generatesymbolreference" parameter)? Is port 7049 maybe occupied by another NAV Server Instance? Are there any errors in the Event log when starting the NAV Server Instance?
    Arturas Kulsinskas
    NaviLogic
Sign In or Register to comment.