Discounts

johnnyc313johnnyc313 Member Posts: 93
This may seem like a silly question.... But we have a customer who always gets a 50% discount on all invoices. How can I set this up in Navision?

Comments

  • Timo_LässerTimo_Lässer Member Posts: 481
    Customer Card -> [Sales] -> [Invoice Discounts]
    Currency  Minimum  Discount %  Service
    Code      Amount               Charge
              0,00      50          0,00
    
    Timo Lässer
    Microsoft Dynamics NAV Developer since 1997
    MSDynamics.de - German Microsoft Dynamics Community - member of [clip]
  • johnnyc313johnnyc313 Member Posts: 93
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply, I tried doing what you suggested before I posted, but it is not showing when I put an invoice on. Is there some way I need to assign the code to the customer or something?
  • Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    In Sales Order Do

    Functions --> Calculate Invoice Discount;

    Then check the Statistics (F9);
  • johnnyc313johnnyc313 Member Posts: 93
    In Sales Order Do

    Functions --> Calculate Invoice Discount;

    Then check the Statistics (F9);

    Tried this too, no discount is shown. Also tried checkin Calculate Invoice Disc in S&R Setup.
  • Timo_LässerTimo_Lässer Member Posts: 481
    Oh yes, you have two options:
    1. You have to calculate the invoice discount manually each time
    2. Check the field "Calc. Inv. Discount" in the "Sales & Receivables Setup"

    If you choose the 2nd option, Navision (re)calculates the Invoice Discount on:
    - show sales statistic (F9)
    - Release Document
    - Post Document
    Timo Lässer
    Microsoft Dynamics NAV Developer since 1997
    MSDynamics.de - German Microsoft Dynamics Community - member of [clip]
  • johnnyc313johnnyc313 Member Posts: 93
    I have tried both options and still it's not working. I don't understand what I am doing wrong.
  • KowaKowa Member Posts: 923
    There is a boolean field "Allow Invoice Disc." in the Sales Line. If this isn't ticked no invoice discounts are calculated. In an Type::Item line it is copied from the item ( default TRUE), but for G/L Account, Resource, Fixed Asset and Item Charge the default is FALSE.
    Kai Kowalewski
  • Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    edited 2005-08-17
    @Kowa

    The "Allow Line Disc" is of no influence on Invoice Discount, only on Line Disounts.

    Greetz,

    Marq
  • KowaKowa Member Posts: 923
    edited 2005-08-17
    @Kowa

    The "Allow Invoice Disc" is of no influence on Invoice Discount, only on Line Disounts.

    Greetz,

    Marq

    I disagree . Take a look at CU 80

    IF "Allow Invoice Disc." AND (TempVATAmountLine."Inv. Disc. Base Amount" <> 0) THEN
    IF QtyType = QtyType::Invoicing THEN
    "Inv. Discount Amount" := "Inv. Disc. Amount to Invoice"
    ELSE BEGIN
    TempVATAmountLineRemainder."Invoice Discount Amount" :=
    TempVATAmountLineRemainder."Invoice Discount Amount" +
    TempVATAmountLine."Invoice Discount Amount" * "Line Amount" /
    TempVATAmountLine."Inv. Disc. Base Amount";
    "Inv. Discount Amount" :=
    ROUND(
    TempVATAmountLineRemainder."Invoice Discount Amount",Currency."Amount Rounding Precision");
    TempVATAmountLineRemainder."Invoice Discount Amount" :=
    TempVATAmountLineRemainder."Invoice Discount Amount" - "Inv. Discount Amount";
    END;


    as well as the function "UpdateVATOnLines" in the Sales Line table
    IF "Allow Invoice Disc." THEN BEGIN
    IF VATAmountLine."Inv. Disc. Base Amount" = 0 THEN
    InvDiscAmount := 0
    ELSE BEGIN
    TempVATAmountLineRemainder."Invoice Discount Amount" :=
    TempVATAmountLineRemainder."Invoice Discount Amount" +
    VATAmountLine."Invoice Discount Amount" * LineAmountToInvoice /
    VATAmountLine."Inv. Disc. Base Amount";
    InvDiscAmount :=
    ROUND(
    TempVATAmountLineRemainder."Invoice Discount Amount",Currency."Amount Rounding Precision");
    TempVATAmountLineRemainder."Invoice Discount Amount" :=
    TempVATAmountLineRemainder."Invoice Discount Amount" - InvDiscAmount;
    END;
    IF QtyType = QtyType::General THEN BEGIN
    "Inv. Discount Amount" := InvDiscAmount;
    CalcInvDiscToInvoice;
    END ELSE
    "Inv. Disc. Amount to Invoice" := InvDiscAmount;
    END ELSE
    InvDiscAmount := 0;


    Even if line discounts are not allowed ( e.g because of very low prices), invoice discounts can still be possible and are handled separately.
    Kai Kowalewski
  • Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    OK, sorry, I thought you meant Sales Line Disc.

    8)
  • dmdm Member Posts: 10
    edited 2005-08-17
    Just tried it myself:

    on Sales&marketing - setup - sales and receivables: Check 'Calc. Inv.Disc.' and 'Calc. inv. Disc. per VAT'

    on 'Customer Card' - 'Sales' - Invoice Discounts':

    Code Currency Minimum Amount Discount % Service Charge
    30000 0.00 50 0.00

    where 30000 is the customer number

    With this setup, Discount is calculated nicely and automatically.

    dm
  • Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    edited 2005-10-03
    Yes, it works fine. My bad, sorry. :D
  • SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    We use Invoice Discounts too - works fine.
  • ecclecticecclectic Member Posts: 176
    hi,

    there's a scenari that's driving me crazy. for one particular customer, on processing s quote, s order or s invoice, on pressing F9, the inv disc field is disabled, which prevents me from entering disc

    thanks for ur help
  • Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    Do you mean only the Discount field or the whole form?

    If you open the Sales Statistics form and look in the OnOpenForm trigger you will see that it gets non-editable when it is not properly setup.
  • gadzilla1gadzilla1 Member Posts: 316
    Greetings,

    This is an awesome post by the way - great information.

    I've been working on keeping the "Allow Invoice Disc." value as false on the Sales Order Subform when a new item is added. No matter what I do, what I try, it keeps popping back up as true. I need the initial value to be false.

    I must be missing something obvious..any ideas? I'm pretty new to this so if what I'm proposing goes against the NAV grain I apologize!

    Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
  • KowaKowa Member Posts: 923
    The initial "Allow Invoice Disc." in the sales line is just copied from the Item's "Allow Invoice Disc." field when the item no. is entered.
    CASE Type OF
      ...
      Type::Item:
        BEGIN
          GetItem;
          ...
          "Allow Invoice Disc." := Item."Allow Invoice Disc.";
    
    Kai Kowalewski
Sign In or Register to comment.