Options

Running Two NAVs 2018 and 2017

I stopped NAV 2018 server instance and start NAV 2017 from NAV 2017 Administration but its display error message:
as follow.

Best Answer

Answers

  • Options
    lubostlubost Member Posts: 618
    You can use 3-rd party administration tool or start/stop services from Services console.
  • Options
    Olarewaju2345Olarewaju2345 Member Posts: 25
    Error message from NAV 2017 Administration when I started Server instance DynamicsNAV100. "The Microsoft Dynamics NAV Admin tool can only manage version 11.0. The serverInstance 'MicrosoftDynamicsNavServer$DynamicsNAV100' is Version '10.0.13682.0'
  • Options
    Slawek_GuzekSlawek_Guzek Member Posts: 1,690
    Unfortunately, Microsoft coded the NAV PowerShell management scripts in a way that they are not backward compatible. The Admin tool coming with NAV 2017 can only manage NAV 2017, and not any earlier versions, and the same applies to the Admin tool coming from 2018 can - it can only manage NAV 2018 - even though the "administration tools" are doing pretty much the same thing, being in fact mostly a simple editors of NAV config files.

    Double check the properties, the path on the NAV 2017 Administration shortcut, whether it really points so the NAV 2017 or NAV 2018 installation folder.

    Slawek Guzek
    Dynamics NAV, MS SQL Server, Wherescape RED;
    PRINCE2 Practitioner - License GR657010572SG
    GDPR Certified Data Protection Officer - PECB License DPCDPO1025070-2018-03
  • Options
    Olarewaju2345Olarewaju2345 Member Posts: 25
    DynamicsNAV100 is NAV 2017 which I started on NAV 2017 Administration. I can also started DynamicsNAV110 on NAV 2017 Administration and it worked
  • Options
    Slawek_GuzekSlawek_Guzek Member Posts: 1,690
    I can also started DynamicsNAV110 on NAV 2017 Administration and it worked
    It looks suspicious for me frankly speaking. From my experience it was not possible so far. Even if Microsoft changed something, it would be rather possible to manage NAV 2017 version with 2018 Administration Tool, not the other way around.

    Maybe you have the service named DynamicsNAV110 but in fact it is the NAV 2017 install? What is the version displayed next to the DynamicsNAV110 instance?

    In my case I have a few different versions installed side by side :
    m7zst80waqoy.png
    I cannot start or stop NAV 2018 using NAV 2017 Administration console - but I can start/stop NAV 2017 service with NAV 2018 Administration console.


    Slawek Guzek
    Dynamics NAV, MS SQL Server, Wherescape RED;
    PRINCE2 Practitioner - License GR657010572SG
    GDPR Certified Data Protection Officer - PECB License DPCDPO1025070-2018-03
  • Options
    Olarewaju2345Olarewaju2345 Member Posts: 25
    Slawek_Guzek , I got your point. But I dont know why. It likes NAV 2018 Administration console override NAV 2017 Administration console. Please I need your help
  • Options
    Olarewaju2345Olarewaju2345 Member Posts: 25
    NAV 2017 Administration Console was working effectively before I installed NAV 2018
  • Options
    Olarewaju2345Olarewaju2345 Member Posts: 25
    Pls look into my uploaded pic, I thought NAV Admin needs setting and can i do it
  • Options
    Slawek_GuzekSlawek_Guzek Member Posts: 1,690
    You need to right-click the properties of the NAV 2017 Administration Console and see where the shortcut points to. Should point to a .ps1 in the folder where you have your NAV 2017 installed

    ...\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\100\Service\...
    Slawek Guzek
    Dynamics NAV, MS SQL Server, Wherescape RED;
    PRINCE2 Practitioner - License GR657010572SG
    GDPR Certified Data Protection Officer - PECB License DPCDPO1025070-2018-03
  • Options
    Olarewaju2345Olarewaju2345 Member Posts: 25
    Solved, I Started NAV 2017 server instance (7045) from Local Service and run NAV 2017 role Center but changed the port number of NAV 2018 server instance (7145) in the NAV 2018 Administration. I had i cant start NAV 2017 server instance in the NAV 2017 Administration because NAV 2018 has override it. Am gratefully for your replied
Sign In or Register to comment.