Options

Nav 2017, item card - picture

kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
Hi all,
from https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh168226(v=nav.90).aspx
I knew that:

To insert a picture

1.In the Search box, enter Items, and then choose the related link.
2.On the Navigate, in the Master Data group, choose Picture. The Item Picture window appears.
3.In the shortcut menu for the picture frame, choose Select Picture.
4.Select the drive, path, and file name for the .BMP file, and then choose the OK button to import the picture.

But instead that's what I see:

dyelgerbgn96.png

where is the "Select picture.." dialog?

Thanks..

Best Answers

  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    Answer ✓
    and one more question, if I am doing upgrade 2013 - 2017 - should I care about Blob fields with pictures or they will be transferred MediaSet type automatically?

    Thanks..
  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    Answer ✓
    nobody uses 2017? :)
  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    Answer ✓
    kvb wrote: »

    yep, we already tried data migration I don't see any data in the Tenant Media table.

    But maybe there is some option/error about it somewhere, trying to find it out, thanks

    So, I found it out.
    There is a data conversion function called UpdateItemPicture which runs MoveBlobToMediaSet function.
    That thing do all the stuff..



  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    edited 2017-10-24 Answer ✓
    ..doubled..

Answers

  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    Answer ✓
    and one more question, if I am doing upgrade 2013 - 2017 - should I care about Blob fields with pictures or they will be transferred MediaSet type automatically?

    Thanks..
  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    Answer ✓
    nobody uses 2017? :)
  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    Juhl wrote: »
    You dont right-click it anymore. Use the actions in the factbox.
    29i2sr5prsah.png

    I dont like MediaSet, as is dosent clean up well. So i create a new field of type Media instead.
    https://forum.mibuso.com/discussion/67919/media-set-cleanup

    thanks buddy, I see now, import function is accessible only from FactBox,
    I tried to do the same from Item Card - Actions - Picture, but that's only to see picture not to change that or something.

  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    One question is still on the table - is there any solution about transferring BLOB fields to new Media/BLOB thing?
    Or I have to take care about it by myself?

    Thanks..
  • Options
    JuhlJuhl Member Posts: 724
    I have only done one upgrade so far, and there i delete blobs first and reimport to new Media field.
    But my guess is that they are transferred. But you will find out during your upgrade test.
    Follow me on my blog juhl.blog
  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    Juhl wrote: »
    I have only done one upgrade so far, and there i delete blobs first and reimport to new Media field.
    But my guess is that they are transferred. But you will find out during your upgrade test.

    yep, we already tried data migration I don't see any data in the Tenant Media table.

    But maybe there is some option/error about it somewhere, trying to find it out, thanks
  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    Answer ✓
    kvb wrote: »

    yep, we already tried data migration I don't see any data in the Tenant Media table.

    But maybe there is some option/error about it somewhere, trying to find it out, thanks

    So, I found it out.
    There is a data conversion function called UpdateItemPicture which runs MoveBlobToMediaSet function.
    That thing do all the stuff..



  • Options
    kvbkvb Member Posts: 107
    edited 2017-10-24 Answer ✓
    ..doubled..
Sign In or Register to comment.