Options

Management of student in navision

celjeta93celjeta93 Member Posts: 3
I am new to Nav and I have joined a project for implementing Nav in management of students. We are having a discussion in my group about which card to use as sudent card. We are having a situation where payments for a student are done by some organization. So we are thinking to use contacts as student card and as customers to be the one that are paying for the students. I dont know if this works, because we want also to keep tracking payments for each student and another case is that a student can be linked with different customer during attendace in the school.

Could anyone please help me,

Thanks in advance

Answers

• Options
    David_SingletonDavid_Singleton Member Posts: 5,479
    Take a look at bill to sell to and ship to structure.

Lets say you have a parent (Smith) with three children (Jane, Fred, Betty), assign Smith as P0028, Jane as S0186, Fred as S0187, Betty as S0188

P0028 = Bill To customer card
    S0186 = Sell To Customer Card with bill to as P0028
    S0187 = Sell To Customer Card with bill to as P0028
    S0189 = Sell To Customer Card with bill to as P0028

Each Customer card, parent and student will also have a contact card made Create the Smith family as a company, and all the parents and students as persons in that company.

The actual linking of the students to the contact cards you need to work out based on the business needs, but this should get you started.

Ship to you can use for managing addresses where a student has multiple addresses, e.g. their primary address is their parents address, but their term address is an on school dormitory.

David Singleton
  • Options
    David_SingletonDavid_Singleton Member Posts: 5,479
    By the way, if the billing organization is NOT the parent, then the same applies, but create a new billing entry for the Bill_to eg. O0021 using a separate letter for Organization, Parent, Student will make it visually easier to manage.