Options

Posting in Purchase Order (There is Nothing to post)

jhanvincent14jhanvincent14 Member Posts: 214
edited 2016-10-06 in NAV Three Tier
Good day everyone, by the way im a newbie in navision so please bear with me. I've tried creating a Purchase Order and posting it as Invoice without posting it as Receive first. Error Prompts NOTHING TO POST. hope you can help me :)

Best Answer

Answers

• Options
    why do you want to post invoice before receipt? the standard way is to post receipt and then invoice.
    other way is to use prepayment functionality

oh. so this error is standard and expected :) i thought im lacking something :) thanks by the way :)
  • Options
    RockWithNAVRockWithNAV Member Posts: 1,139
    Hey Jhanvi,

I believe this is something a very common mistake people use to do. If we talk about Sales Order then you cant Invoice it until and Unless you have Shipped it -You may go ahed and simply Ship it or Ship and Invoice but you cant Invoice it out until unless it has been shipped. The same concept goes for Purchase Part and you cant Invoice until and Unless you have received it.
  • Options
    ZafarZafar Member Posts: 3
    Hi All,

I believe there is a situation for both sales and purchases, because they are essentially the same, but from a different point of view.

The goal for me is this:
    When we confirm a purchase order, we need to account for the acceptance of the commitment to pay the purchase order amount in order to be able to receive all the goods/ services ordered.

In this situation you do not have a supplier invoice(s) yet, nor are the goods received. Yet you have committed to buy goods or services for a certain amount.

This would need to be accounted for buy Posting a purchase order where neither an invoice, or a receipt has taken place for the ordered items.

GL Entries would be:
    Goods Ordered Not Shipped (Debit) (Total amount of the purchase Order)