Options

How do I auto fill a field in a subform;

BagheeraBagheera Member Posts: 57
Hello,

I have a table (Act) with 2 fields.
Code
Description

That is a static table, the data in there never changes.

Then I have a form with a subform and there are 2 fields in there:
Act. Code
Act. Description

I have linked the Act. Code field to the Code field from the first table (Act).
So lookup works and I can select any code I want.

What I want is when I select the code, the description field to be automatically completed with the description that corresponds to that code as it is stored in the first (static) table - the one I named act.

It is the exact same thing like when filling in an invoice and you select an item number and the description is filled automatically the moment you select that number.

I am new in Navision,
thank you in advance.
animateduserbar6sx.gif

Comments

• Options
    Ok found it...
    Act. Code - OnAfterValidate()
    CurrCode := "Act. Code"; //Field Value to Local Var
    Activities.RESET; // Reset Recordset of Static Table
    Activities.SETFILTER(Code, CurrCode); // Filter Static Table
    Activities.NEXT; // Go to 1st row - there is only one after filtering
    "Act. Description" := Activities.Description; //Assign value from record to field in table

Just let me know, is that code safe to use?

ALSO, after filling some lines that way, at random points no matter what code I select the description gets stuck to one value... Can u see what I might be doing wrong?
    animateduserbar6sx.gif
  • Options
    CaffaCaffa Member Posts: 15
    Well Bagheera,

Why don't you use the following:

IF NOT Act.GET("Act. Code") THEN
      CLEAR(Act);

"Act. Description" := Act.Description;

Your code would probably also work, but it's way to complicated for such an easy adjustment......
  • Options
    I used this fragment of code and description does not get "stuck" anymore - it works fine.
      CLEAR(Act);

But without the rest of my code and just the