Options

Consolidation question-w/ out using consolidation granule:P-

riki7riki7 Member Posts: 29
Hi guys, i just want to re-confirm something. (This is kind of stupid actually)
I have in the same database 3 companies. The client has asked us if there is a way he can have reports where they can read data from all 3 companies. Note: He hasn't bought the consolidation granule, so the consolidation option is not an option. As long as i know there isn't any other way... or is there??? Like through programming lets say??(i am not a programmer so i don't know if it would work???)

Comments

• Options
    hansfouserthansfousert Member Posts: 46
    Hi!

We use Jet Reports to "consolidate" different companies into report.

Jet Reports allows you to access all companies in a single database, or even multiple databases. It will retrieve the data and insert them into Excel. You may create sheets per company or sheets for all companies.

This add-in for Excel will also allow you to consolidate non-financial data, e.g. stock, jobs etc.

I could go on for while to tell you more about Jet Reports (like access to other open databases or distribution of reports) :D , but please visit their website (www.jetreports.com) or contact me if you have any particular question.
    Kind regards,

Hans Fousert
    Microsoft Certified Trainer and Jet Reports Certified Trainer
  • Options
    ShenpenShenpen Member Posts: 386
    Or maybe a report on a temporary table (using Integer table) and using Recordvariable.CHANGECOMPANY (have not tested, just an idea)

Do It Yourself is they key. Standard code might work - your code surely works.
  • Options
    krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,090
    Shenpen is correct with the CHANGECOMPANY.

You can use it like this:
    recCompany.RESET; // this is table 2000000006
    IF recCompany.find('-') THEN
    REPEAT
    Rec.RESET;
    Rec.SETCURRENTKEY(...);
    Rec.CHANGECOMPANY(recCompany.Name);
    Rec.SETRANGE(.....);
    IF Rec.FIND('-') THEN