NAV2013R2 - Connecting the Client over WAN

tzookitzooki Member Posts: 6
edited 2014-05-07 in NAV Three Tier
Hi everyone

I'm new here and hope that someone could help me out.

I'm trying to set-up a sort of hosted environment in which the RoleTailored Client would be able to authenticate with a remote server over WAN. Now i know this requires a certificate and i have successfully done this in a testing environment using this walk-through: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/gg502478(v=nav.71).aspx
during which i used the makecert.exe utility - this worked great but i cannot use this in a production environment.

I'm not a certificate expert at all and i'm just failing to understand the process that needs to be done in the production environment walk-through: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/gg502467(v=nav.71).aspx

How exactly do i get the "service certificate" from a CA? Is it a regular SSL certificate or something else? I got a 30-day trial certificate from GeoTrust and already have it but i just can't figure out the process of installing it properly - I imported it to the "Local Machine>Personal>Certificates" but the "Manage Private Keys" option is missing so I'm stuck at the beginning of the walk-through.

I'm pretty sure that i'm just missing out some parts of the whole process with the Certificates but i just can't figure out what :|

I would very much appreciate any help you can offer especially if someone has done this and can explain it to me, as I'm seriously starting to lose it ](*,)

Many thanks, Michael.

Comments

• kinekine Member Posts: 12,562