How Do I: Change to another database in 2013R2 on a local in

hvdhoevenhvdhoeven Member Posts: 99
edited 2014-03-04 in NAV Three Tier
Maybe a very dumb question...

I have installed the demo installation and have uploaded my licence file.
Now I have created a new database in Management Studio and have restored my SQL-backup.

The next step is how to change the database for use in the Windows Client to the newly created database.

I have googled, but cannot find the solution.
It cannot be too hard.

But please write your answer for dummies, since I am not a techie.
Thanks a lot!

Have a nice day!

Comments

• majormarcell1988majormarcell1988 Member Posts: 20
    Hi,

I think the easiest way is to run the install again and from the Add or remove components choose the Administration Tool option. This will install the Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2013 R2 Administration Tool which you will find in the start menu.
    If you start it you will see a list of the available nav service tiers on your computer, if you installed the demo that it should be DynamicsNAV71. Click on Edit button and you can set your new database at the Database Name section.
    You can also create a new instance if you want to run windows client with multiple databases.

Marcell
  • hvdhoevenhvdhoeven Member Posts: 99
    Hi,

I think the easiest way is to run the install again and from the Add or remove components choose the Administration Tool option. This will install the Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2013 R2 Administration Tool which you will find in the start menu.
    If you start it you will see a list of the available nav service tiers on your computer, if you installed the demo that it should be DynamicsNAV71. Click on Edit button and you can set your new database at the Database Name section.
    You can also create a new instance if you want to run windows client with multiple databases.

Marcell

Thanks Marcell, I have already got that program installed, but it does not make any sense to me.