Options

How do I differentiate between page exits?

bknoppbknopp Member Posts: 37
edited 2014-03-03 in NAV Three Tier
Hi all,

I'm new to NAV programming, and I have a bit of a stumper (at least for me). I have a page that prompts the user for five data values (all CODE types) that it passes on to a sub-form. All five must be populated in order to proceed to the sub-form.

My initial thought was to put the "are all the fields populated?" logic in the page's OnQueryClosePage trigger, but I need to be able to distinguish between:
  • User clicked "OK"
  • User clicked the "Close" button with the red "X" in the top right corner
  • User pressed the ESC key

Obviously I only want to display the sub-form if the user clicks "OK".

I walked through the code in the debugger to watch the event, and the "CloseAction" parameter was "OK" for both the "OK" and "red X Close" buttons, so that won't work. My Bing-fu failed to find any guidance on the web, and none of the forum posts I've seen here address my question.

All suggestions are welcome, 'cause I feel like ](*,)

Comments

• Options
    Rob_HansenRob_Hansen Member Posts: 296
    There are a few different ways to approach this. I'll give you a couple here.

If you really need a header/subform structure (where the user fills in fields on the header first and then the subform can be used based on those values), either use a temporary table for the subform or set an initial filter that shows no results. Once the user fills in the header fields, have a page action for them to run ("Generate" or "Proceed" or whatever you want to call it) that generates the records for the subform (if temporary) or lifts the filter (so the records are shown).