Options

XMLport basics (Beginner)

booneboone Member Posts: 23
edited 2014-01-20 in NAV Three Tier
Hey guys. I'm new to NAV - have only been working with it for 2 months, so try to go easy on me :wink: .

My company is in the process of switching to 2013 R2, and in the process we are changing a lot of the structure and processes that we previously used. One of the things we need to do is import expense details (we receive a | delimited file with 256 columns from Concur) into purchase invoices. I think that the XMLport will be the best way to do this, but I am struggling to get it to work. I've been looking through examples and stuff for a couple days, but I just can't get it hammered out. What do you guys recommend as a starting point for learning XMLports?

This has been the most help to me, so far, but I'm still having trouble translating it to exactly what I need:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNYrmZX ... e=youtu.be

If you guys could get me started, I think I can run with it. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    geordiegeordie Member Posts: 655
    Hi, you can get started taking a look at these links:

- Creating XMLports
    - XMLport Fundamentals
    - Designing XMLports
    - XMLport Generator

Feel free to ask for any further question.
  • Options
    Thanks for the help, geordie. I've made some progress, but I'm still having some troubles. My biggest issue was that I didn't realize that to designate the | as the delimiter I needed to put just the "|", I had been using "<|>". Now I'm having a problem where I can't assign one of my incoming fields to the "Posting Description" - it uses the "Invoice <Invoice No.>" instead.
    Here's my extremely simple version so far, with Posting Description not functioning properly:

EDIT: This falls under
    PurchaseHeader - Import::OnBeforeInsertRecord()
    /EDIT
    MyPurchaseHeader.INIT;
    MyPurchaseHeader."Document Type" := MyPurchaseHeader."Document Type"::Invoice;