Options

NAV2013 and 2009 on one SQL Server

joathomejoathome Member Posts: 3
edited 2014-01-03 in NAV Three Tier
Hi,
we have one license installed on the SQL-Server. On the server we have two NAV 2009R2 databases running. Now we want to update DB1 to v2013 (or 2013R2). Is it possible to use both DB´s (DB1 2009R2 and DB2 2013) furthermore with just one license on the SQL-Server? In the history I didn´t have a problem running v5.0 und 2009 with one license on the SQL-Server, but now I have to convert to the new license model!

Comments

  • Options
    shsh Member Posts: 24
    With "licence" I assume you are referring to the NAV licence?
    It depends what kind of licence we are talking about and what your goal is you want to achieve.
    First of all, as far as I know, NAV licences are per database (e.g. you are not allowed to use the same NAV licence for several productive databases).
    I know for sure the new licence model has some drawbacks but unfortunately I don't have any details (not a licence guy). You better ask MS (if you are a partner) or your NAV partner (if you are a client) for support.
    If your two databases had two different licences the solution would be granule 2020 (Licence per database), but this won't work in your case.
  • Options
    ppavukppavuk Member Posts: 334
    I think if your licence is converted to 2013 it will cover previous versions, isn't it? Not sure though.
  • Options
    bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268
    A couple of points:

    1. As stated above, the NAV license allows only 1 production database.

    2. A customer's NAV 2013 license is not backward compatible with earlier NAV versions. Meaning you can't use it to run 2009.

    3. If your NAV 2013 license is acquired thru an upgrade process, then it is considered a replacement and your current 2009 license would no longer be valid. In order to continue running both production 2009 and 2013 systems, you would need to make outright purchase of 2013.

    4. Once you upgrade the license to 2013, you can no longer make changes to the 2009 license.
    There are no bugs - only undocumented features.
  • Options
    joathomejoathome Member Posts: 3
    Thanks’ a lot for your replies,
    two answers and two solutions. But I think that´s the way MS-Licensing’s works. :-k
    Dose anyone have an official MS document where you can read about how it really running?
  • Options
    absolutelyfreewebabsolutelyfreeweb Member Posts: 104
    bbrown is right, but you will only notice a problem when/if your 2009 license expires, or if you want to change something in 2009 (like new tables etc requiring a license change)
  • Options
    fufikkfufikk Member Posts: 104
    In the 'alter database window' can't you just select 'save license in database' and upload 2009 license to 2009 db and the 2013 license to 2013 db?

    I only used that with dev. license on my computer, but that did the trick.
  • Options
    bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268
    fufikk wrote:
    In the 'alter database window' can't you just select 'save license in database' and upload 2009 license to 2009 db and the 2013 license to 2013 db?

    I only used that with dev. license on my computer, but that did the trick.

    That's only a valid approach if you actually have a valid 2009 license and a valid 2013 license. Remember, if you acquired your 2013 license as an upgrade from 2009, you no long have a valid 2009 license.
    There are no bugs - only undocumented features.
  • Options
    fufikkfufikk Member Posts: 104
    Oh, good to know then, thanks bbrown :)
  • Options
    absolutelyfreewebabsolutelyfreeweb Member Posts: 104
    you can do that until the license exp date. after that you are out of luck
  • Options
    bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268
    you can do that until the license exp date. after that you are out of luck

    Expiration has nothing to do with it. Once you have upgraded the old license can not be used. Beside customer licenses don't expire. Partner licenses are backward compatible, so this all doesn't matter for that.
    There are no bugs - only undocumented features.
  • Options
    absolutelyfreewebabsolutelyfreeweb Member Posts: 104
    how would nav know the license is upgraded?
    its an isolated system

    if it doesnt expire they should be able to run it but can never add objects to it etc..
  • Options
    bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268
    how would nav know the license is upgraded?
    its an isolated system...

    The customer would know how they had acquired their 2013 license. Where they had received it as a result of being a current NAV customer on an active plan (upgrade), or had made a new outright purchase of NAV 2013. No different then how they would know if they had upgraded or purchased many other software packages. Such as Windows, Office, etc.
    There are no bugs - only undocumented features.
Sign In or Register to comment.