Options

Grant All User to view Server State

nikeman77nikeman77 Member Posts: 517
edited 2013-02-28 in SQL General
Hi All,

I need to transfer all users from LIVE to another Server.
Export part was done using query: exec sp_help_revlogin which will provide a lists of login id's and password. i copied this to a text file.
CREATE LOGIN [BruceLee] WITH PASSWORD = 0x01002A52EF6D9FBDB5DC11780391626B2DD9E3E2511F46138952 HASHED, SID = 0x0056703E08AE099D999453A4382428AA, CHECK_POLICY = ON, CHECK_EXPIRATION = OFF;

1.When I execute this query of create login it give me error:
Msg 15433, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
Supplied parameter sid is in use.

2. Also how or where can I get a script to grant all users that is created in the above lists to view State?

PS: I am a newbie in SQL

Comments

• Options
    Slawek_GuzekSlawek_Guzek Member Posts: 1,690
    nikeman77 wrote:
    2. Also how or where can I get a script to grant all users that is created in the above lists to view State?
    USE [master]
    GO
    GRANT VIEW SERVER STATE TO [public]

If you want go grant VIEW SERVER STATE permission ONLY to the users created by your script (and personally I can't see any good reason why not to grant VIEW SERVER STATE to public role) copy a list of users taken from Windows Login table to some Excel speadsheet and prepare a list of GRANT VIEW SERVER STATE TO [user 1], GRANT VIEW SERVER STATE TO [user 2] and so on statements. Copy and paste it into SSMS and you are done.
    Slawek Guzek
    Dynamics NAV, MS SQL Server, Wherescape RED;
    PRINCE2 Practitioner - License GR657010572SG
    GDPR Certified Data Protection Officer - PECB License DPCDPO1025070-2018-03
  • Options
    Slawek Guzek,

thanks for advising, I'll be granting ALL users with GRANT VIEW SERVER STATE.

is the syntax exactly >> USE [master] GO GRANT VIEW SERVER STATE TO [public]

by the way, how do I create user based on the users lists (text format) generated ?
  • Options