Options

Pros and cons of Microsoft Dynamics NAV

poppinspoppins Member Posts: 647
edited 2012-10-01 in General Chat
Hi everyone,

I have been using Dynamics NAV for a few months and this is my first experience with business/enterprise solutions so I am not really able to evaluate it or to compare it to other ERPs...

Can anyone tell me what are the pros and cons of Microsoft Dynamics NAV ???

Comments

• Options
    Alex_ChowAlex_Chow Member Posts: 5,063
    It's the best mid-market ERP software on the market today. No joke.

You will hear high level developer guys complain about things on this forum, but you can never do enough to satisfy high level developers with high expectations.

Selecting NAV, along with the right partner, will be one of the better investments you have for your company.
  • Options
    poppinspoppins Member Posts: 647
    So, no negative aspects at all ???
  • Options
    karuchuakaruchua Member Posts: 151
    only one, sometimes when you want to develop certain out of box solutions,it can be rigid at times,but that not always the case
  • Options
    Miklos_HollenderMiklos_Hollender Member Posts: 1,598
    Alex Chow wrote:
    It's the best mid-market ERP software on the market today.

I'd put it this way: it is the best mid-market ERP software if you need one of these big, international, brand-name stuff like Navision, SAP, Oracle, Baan and all that. Of these, the best.

However it may not mean it is overally the best solution as there could be some nifty local package developed by a small local company who can provide more flexibility, more of those features you need, and much cheaper hourly costs of customizaton, maybe even an architecture that allows customization without special training (like, business logic written in stored procedures, much more people can customize that than C/AL).

My recommendation is to decide if you are an entrepreneur or an enterprise.