"Applying Entries" in General Ledger

NoiK00NoiK00 Member Posts: 51
Hi All,

Since migrating to Dynamics NAV( 2009 SP1, version 6.1 the NL localization), i'm getting more and more questions from the financial departement on "How to work with the General Ledger" (regarding accounts and entries).

Recently i received a question on how to find out what the specification is on a interim account.
I'm not a financial expert but i look at this as a TEMPorary ledger, which after a periode must go to 0,00, and if not it must be traced which lines must be corrected.(correct me if i'm wrong). The question i received is how to find out which entries make up this amount(Question 1). Initially i forwarded the question to my partner, but after a few weeks we still don't get a satisfying answer, so i'm trying the community.

When i look at the entry lines i see the "open" column, which states the line is open or not. This functionality works using the "applying entries" function in NAV. Does this only work when a user executes this functionality? Or are there similar periodic function who will close lines FOR you?(Question 2) When using this field we could filter what is open or not, and see what the amount is made up from. Is this a normal practice whicht other companies user too, or are there other solutions?(Question 3)

For example in the flow of purchases;
    When Receiving a purchase order it creates a purchase receipt.(this creates a ledger entries for the items with the receipt documentnumber)
    When we recieve the invoice, we use the function "Get Receipt lines" and invoice it(this will create a correction line for the receipt, but doesn't applies it to this lines so it stays open)
    After it's being paid, the vendor ledger entry isn't open anymore, but the lines in the general ledger, keeps staying "open".

What are the ways to work with this situations?

Thanks in advance,
Kees

Comments

• bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268