PRC and PIN document numbers

JoeITJoeIT Member Posts: 13
I am a huge novice in NAV and learning as I go. Recently we upgraded (with the help of our parent company) from 3.70B to 5.0. I recently got this ticket from our accounting department.
Prior to the transition – any time I would process an invoice I would get an entry into GL 900002 with a document number starting with 12/PRCxxxxx. Now when I process an invoice – I get an entry into GL 900002 with a document number starting with 12/PINxxxxx.
Up until the transition, I would match the document numbers together and clear the offsetting entries (AP Invoice with Receipt) to identify items that remain open and need to be addressed prior to closing a month out.
Is there any way of returning to the PRC numbering method – or can you offer a suggestion of where I can get information that would match the PIN with the PRC number in a quick fashion?

She also attached an excel file that she uses as a type of reconciliation (offsetting amounts with the same PRC number would clear each other). Our parent company states that Microsoft changed its document numbering system from PRC to PIN and this is causing the issue and there is nothing to do.

Anyone have recommendations or experienced this before?

Comments

• SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    Sounds like you want to change the number series - Have a look how your old number series looked like and compare it to your new number series to find the differences.

Number series is easy to change.
  • JoeITJoeIT Member Posts: 13
    yUW9N.jpg
    Here is a table showing the lines of NAV 3.7 number series vs Nav5.0 number series, They look identical to me. What would I change?
    So if they are setup the same way then perhaps the assignment is different.
    In 3.7 you probably have a screen like this that shows which no series is assigned to which doc.

I'm thinking that in your new version perhaps one of these is assigned differently.