Options

Log Out inactive user

acioacio Member Posts: 24
Hi, all

Could someone help me? Navision must broke the connection after defined time of the inactive user. How can I do it?

Thanks

Comments

  • Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    If you are using 4.0 there is Idle time in session and if you delete the line in session, client is disconnected...

    If you have pre 4.0 version, make technical upgrade to have same functionality as in 4.0 or seach for example ExpandIT solution (there are more "klient terminator" programs...) ;-)
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    BokkBokk Member Posts: 138
    I am interested in the ability to disconnect a user as well. I went and looked at the DB session info and there was nothing in the Idle Time column yet it was connected.

    Could you give a little more detail. Can it be disconnected based on a time limit. If so, where does this code need to go? Or is this for DB management and not accessible?

    Thanks!
    SGM
  • Options
    acioacio Member Posts: 24
    Hi,

    I'm using 3.70 and Native DB. There is a table 2000000009 (Session), but no field - Idle Time. Session termination utils (3d party) - not very attractive way.

    Thanks anyway, kine!
  • Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    I wrote: IF YOU ARE USING 4.0..... :!:

    And than you must make your own module which will check this and disconnect the users...
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    dick11dick11 Member Posts: 60
    We use 3.60.

    So with this version a solution is to use pskill.exe (www.sysinternals.com).

    But has someone a better idea?
    Dick van der Sar

    www.dasautomatisering.nl
  • Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    What about C/SIDE (technical) upgrade to 4.00? After that you can use this new functionality...

    Or use external programs like ExpandIT...

    We have such a application too... It is version independent and disconnect the user if the imput is not active (keyboard, mouse) or the Navision window is not top window for some time (it is minimized or behind another application)...
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    UrmasUrmas Member Posts: 76
    Eee......

    I hoped that after I post a solution for the issue in Tips & Tricks people will search from there first :(

    The link to the topic is here

    http://www.mibuso.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5536

    dick11 wrote:
    We use 3.60.

    So with this version a solution is to use pskill.exe (www.sysinternals.com).

    But has someone a better idea?

    I think that the pskill it not the best possible option - it will terminate the application, but sometimes it happens that the application is not "visible" but the license is still used. Also it is quite unconvinient to type in the computernames and process names or ID-s. I prefer selection from list given by tcpview.
  • Options
    Luc_VanDyckLuc_VanDyck Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 3,633
    Urmas wrote:
    Eee......

    I hoped that after I post a solution for the issue in Tips & Tricks people will search from there first :(
    Don't count on it :whistle:
    No support using PM or e-mail - Please use this forum. BC TechDays 2024: 13 & 14 June 2024, Antwerp (Belgium)
  • Options
    randrewsrandrews Member Posts: 135
    acio wrote:
    Hi,

    I'm using 3.70 and Native DB. There is a table 2000000009 (Session), but no field - Idle Time. Session termination utils (3d party) - not very attractive way.

    Thanks anyway, kine!

    Where can I find the table 2000000009 (Session)? I'm using 3.6, but i ca see 2000000006 and next 2000000053 in object designer.
  • Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    Idle time - since 4.00 (may be used on 3.70 with MS SQL - only altering or creating new View with this info...)
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    dick11dick11 Member Posts: 60
    Dear Urmas

    I had seen your trick but did not know what you have done.
    Can you give us the changes you made in codeunit 1 so that this client does a disconnect?
    Dick van der Sar

    www.dasautomatisering.nl
  • Options
    UrmasUrmas Member Posts: 76
    ?

    The tcpview is a 3-rd party tool what in fact does not have anything in common with Navision. So - in order to disconnect you do not need to do anything in cdu1

    What did I do?

    - I log in on a server what is running Navision Native database server service (usually throught terminal server client / Remote desktop)
    - I run a copy of TcpView installed on that server
    A list of connections is displayed
    - I find a bunch of connections belonging to Navision server (they are all using the Navision port - either the default one or the one you specified in service startup). I also have a Navision icons displayed for these connections
    - I select the connection what needs to be disconnected
    - I click the right mouse button and select the connection termination command.
    - I am happy

    I mentioned the change in cdu1 to give you a hint where you can look if you want to develop some solution to get the idea what Navision user is using what connection. Once more - you do not need to use Navision at all to actually disconnect the users.

    Naturally - it would be greately welcomed if anyone wrote a navision code what could call rexec and run the some program in the server what would kille the correct connection ... but again in the days of deletable sessions in 4.0 - why bother?
Sign In or Register to comment.