Fical Year Closing

niksbniksb Member Posts: 11
Hello all,

I am a Techincal consultant and working with a Navision Client company in FMCG sector. They are using Navision 4.0 for past 3-4 years.
Before i joined they have not closed Fiscal year of last 3 years(2007-2010).

Now project is assinged to me that Closing of year closing of all these years.

As i am a techincal person i dont have much knowledge of Fiance and i am confuse what to to.

Kindly let me know the procedure in Navision also functionally and Finance point of view what is need to be checked about balance carry forward and P&L etc.

Also once closing the years how the system will become fast?

Also if there is any documentation about this please let me know

Comments

• chengalasettyvsraochengalasettyvsrao Member Posts: 711
    This link may help you

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=40019

I strongly suggest you to have the senior to help you for first time , so you can do yourself nexttime onwards.
  • varun_arora26513varun_arora26513 Member Posts: 5
    Hi niksb,

For closing year end, first you have to close the accounting period for 2007 then 2008, 2009, 2010 one by one. once you close the year 2007 in accounting period after that you have to close the income statement Accounts and transfer the balance to retained earning a/c by using close income statement batch job which will automatically create the reverse entries in general journal and then ur accountant has to check that entries if everything fine then just post it.

I prefer you will do this in the company of your Accountant.

Regards,
    Varun
  • niksbniksb Member Posts: 11
    Thank you for reply.

I understand littlebit and sounds that the Procedure is not so complecated.

However i have a small doughbt that Running Close Income statement Batch is nessesary? and Also as mentioned(Transfer to retained earnings accounts) this will be Balance Account No. in JV ryt?

What is the immapct of this job processing and how to know which account to select?