Extremely new to NAV - Need form textbox help

c_sledgec_sledge Member Posts: 10
Hi guys,

I'm brand new to NAV dev, and I have a specific goal I'd like to achieve.

I have a report, that has 3 separate, named, textboxes I'd like to change the text of based on what a user specifies in an option field on a record in a table.

So, lets say the user enters a record and picks option A.

Out of the three textboxes on the form, I need one of those to update to something such as 'X' on the report to indicate that specific option was chosen, while leaving the other 2 textboxes blank.

I understand there will be variables involved, but I'm unsure how to link a variable to the textboxes, nor how to have the code reference the field from the record to execute a function to perform this.

I'm assuming this also could take place in a trigger, but I'm unsure of the best method to achieve such functionality.

I'm sure this is extremely easy for some of you out there, and I apologize upfront for the lack of knowledge. If you need more information, please let me know.

THANKS!

Comments

• SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    There's probably multiple ways of doing this. here's a quick test

create a report using sales header as the dataitem.

global var: MYDOCTYPE -> TYPE TEXT

OnAfterGetRecord()
    IF "Document Type" = "Document Type"::Order
    THEN MYDOCTYPE := 'o' ELSE MYDOCTYPE := 'x';

Add a text box to a report with sourceexp MYDOCTYPE
    change the font to Wingdings. also add an order numbe field.

Print preview.

You will see a box next to all Order Numbers that are type Order and a box with an "x" for all other types.

just a sample - you can expand on this to fill your needs. Perhaps even use a "case" statement for all yur options.

There is a Application Designers Guide that comes with your product cd to help you with reporting(w1w1adg.pdf).

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... n&id=24432
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd301468.aspx