Increment Entry No

SugeevishereSugeevishere Member Posts: 11
Hi Guys,
Im extremely new to NAV. I need a help from You all.

I have used the Entry No as the Primary Key in my Temporary Table. I want to increment it by one when i post a record. I have set Auto increment Property. But its not properly working.
Can some one write a coding to increment the Entry no by 1 when i post record every Time.

Any Help will be appriciated.

Thank You.

Answers

• kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    Autoincrement is not working on temporary tables... could you be more specific on how you are using the table?
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Luc_VanDyckLuc_VanDyck Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 3,633
    This code works without setting the AutoIncrement-property:
    recYourTable.LOCKTABLE;
    IF recYourTable.FINDLAST THEN
      intNextEntryNo := intNextEntryNo + 1
    ELSE
      intNextEntryNo := 1;

recYourTable.INIT;
    recYourTable."Entry No." := intNextEntryNo;

No support using PM or e-mail - Please use this forum. BC TechDays 2024: 13 & 14 June 2024, Antwerp (Belgium)
  • SugeevishereSugeevishere Member Posts: 11
    Hi Guys,

Thanx for both's Reply.

@ Kine I meant by Temporary table is I didn't change the Table's Property as Temporary. This is a Temporary table. It means I do not store in my DB. I delete this table when i finish the job.

@ Luc van Dyck Its compiling perfectly. But The output is not corrrect. It Starts with Zero and It won't moves above that. Stays with Zero.
    Can You Provide me a Solution on this?
    This is a Temporary table. It means I do not store in my DB. I delete this table when i finish the job.

Thus you used Temporary on the record variable to set it as temporary... ;-) if it is not stored in DB, it is temporary... and the autoincrement is not working, and the Luc's code too because it is on real table and it is empty...
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.