Options

C/SIDE Solution Development: When to use validate

CaponeCapone Member Posts: 125
Hi!

I'm studying to the C/SIDE Solution Development exam and during my studies I can't really get a grip on when to use validate.

Don't get me wrong, I know how to use validate it is more a philosophical on how often I should use it.

I have almost stopped using := instead I use validate. Sometimes it has happened that I need to write some validation code in a trigger but then I realise that the coder before haven't been using validate when given the field the value which means that I have to go through all code that has := and replace it with validate which could be a time consuming process.

In the C/SIDE Solution Development examples they mostly use := unless they know they have trigger code that want to run with validate.

What are your opinions about validate? Do you prefer it over := or do you only use it when you need it?
Hello IT, have you tried to turn it off and on?
Have you checked the cables?
Have you released the filters?

http://www.navfreak.com

Answers

• Options
    Thanks! Exactly what I was looking for but I had hoped for an more simplier answer but they usually aren't :)

• Options
    DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,304
    I don't agree with the gimmicky message in that blog post at all, it simplifies this issue way too much. There's no hard and fast rule as to when to use it and when not to. It's up to you, you have to decide whether to validate a field or if you want to take care of associated values in your code.