Commit Cache on Native Database

JFGcanesJFGcanes Member Posts: 11
Greetings fellow "Nav-ites". I've enjoyed coming to this site for a lot of great Nav info for the past several years and this is my first time posting.

As background, our company had been running computer operations on a TI990 (Texas Instruments Mini Computer) since 1978 up until a complete cut-over to Navision in 2009, after a long process which began in 2006. This is my first experience with a Database System and I'm truly loving the capabilities and ease of use/programming of Navision.

My question involves the "Commit Cache" setting for the Native Database Server. Is there any reason/circumstance where you would not turn the Commit Cache On?

Our Database/Server setup is as follows:

Nav 4.0 SP3 - Native - 30 Active Users
Database Size is 15 GB with about 70% of the space used
Dell PowerEdge 6600 Server with 4 GB RAM (800,000 KB used for Database Cache)
2 - 36 GB 10K SCSI Disk Drives in a RAID 10 PERC-3DC Hardware Array (for the OS Windows 2000 Server)
4 - 36 GB 15K SCSI Disk Drives in a RAID 10 PERC-3DC Hardware Array (for the Database in a Single File)

Our issue is when large amounts of lines are posted from journals, during the COMMIT phase at the end of the posting, all our NAV Clients hang waiting on the Windows "Hour Glass" Cursor. Once the postings are Committed to the Database the Clients return to normal operations. On large postings this can take up to 30-45 seconds and is very annoying to our users.