Options

Microsoft releases explanation

BeliasBelias Member Posts: 2,998
edited 2011-10-21 in General Chat
Hi everyone,
I've been working in nav as a developer for more than 4 years up to now, but i've never understood how microsoft manages their hotfix releases. Now I want to clarify this, because i couldn't find a good explanation anywhere. i have some questions:
1. What is the difference between hotfix, update, patch, service pack? (i know about service pack, but i added it to the question for completeness) :wink:
2. What is a hotfix roll-up?
3. If my client have problem "A" and problem "B" which are solved by 2 different hotfixes, should i apply both of them? and what if some files are common to both the hotfixes?should i apply the file(s) with the higer number?
4a. Why microsoft doesn't update the download link for the installation package with the latest hotfix?
4b. Because of (4a) i can't download a fully hotfixed NAV installation package. How can i create it? (i guess by applying all the files with the higher build no.)
5. after having known about the first questions, what is the meaning of this article? http://blogs.msdn.com/b/nav/archive/2011/02/08/combined-hotfix-release-for-microsoft-dynamics-nav-2009-sp1-and-microsoft-dynamics-nav-2009.aspx
(that blog needs to be reorganized: the scroll is deadly slow on my IE7)

P.S.: i know i should be aware of all this stuff even before knowing nav, sorry for my ignorance about it :oops:
Thanks in advance to all the people that will find time to fill this gap for me (and i guess for many other people). I know i'm asking a huge amount of informations. Obviously, if you have a useful link that explains all the stuff, it would be great!
-Mirko-
"Never memorize what you can easily find in a book".....Or Mibuso
My Blog

Comments

• Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    I will try to describe what I know, but I cannot grant that it is fully true:

ad 1)