Options

Review of the MB5-858 Exam

matttraxmatttrax Member Posts: 2,309
I obviously can't divulge a ton. Microsoft won't even tell you how many questions are on the exam or passing score for whatever reason. I will say the number of questions were more than I expected. More than a functional exam, but not as many as the development exams. I believe that I squeaked by with a passing score.

I am not a project manager, but a developer. I took this anyway because I wanted to improve my project management skills. If you have not taken a project, or multiple projects, from start to finish through the Sure Step process, you are probably going to have some trouble passing it. Although I have used various parts of Sure Step for a while now, I think I was lucky to get through it.

I think if you know all of the different project phases, what phases each type of document is used in, and what goes in each document, you will probably not have a lot of trouble. But if you've seen the number of documents and sections in the Sure Step process, it's a lot. This one is not like some of the functional exams, where if you've been a developer for a while you've picked up on the majority of the functionality. You really should be a project manager if you're going to take and pass this exam.

Comments

• Options
    jeffb_r4jeffb_r4 Member Posts: 34
    There is a page here https://community.dynamics.com/product/ ... -exam.aspx
    with some useful advice, most of which I took (except for the taking the course part of it).
    Somewhere I remember reading this being described as an implementation methodology course, not a Sure Step course per se, but I don't really think that that is the case. I don't think you could possibly be proficient on some other methodology and pass this course without learning the Sure Step methodology.
  • Options
    matttraxmatttrax Member Posts: 2,309
    jeffb_r4 wrote: