Use of Contact Card in Order Entry in NAV 2009 SP1

knmknm Member Posts: 170
Hi, I'm still a newbie in the NAV 2009 SP1 system, and currently I'm trying to figure out how the Contact Card is structured in both Vendor and Customer card.

First of all, my understanding is that Contacts will be created under each Vendor and Customer, and contact types "Company" and "Person" can be created. (Only 1 "Company Contact" and numerous "Person Contact" can be created)

And here's my question, since the Contact Card has the fields to save Address details like that of the "Order Address/Ship-to Address", I was wondering if specific Contact No. is used during order entry, the address information will get inherited from the Contact Card.

But as I was creating both SO and PO, and when I assigned a Contact No., no address information was updated, except for the Contact Person.

Is there any option for the orders to inherit the Contact Card's address information? Or is this how NAV 2009 SP1 is structured?
If so, then I feel that the address fields entry in the Contact Card to be very ambiguous.

Thank you.

Kenji

Comments

• rhpntrhpnt Member Posts: 688
    The contacts and the data within is only used in sales/marketing functions/activities (e.g. segments). In sales and/or purchase documents NAV will only use customer/vendor data.
  • knmknm Member Posts: 170
    I see, so Contact is not directly related to the Order Documents, and thus no address information are inherited by design.

But I was thinking that the only way to manage a multiple Bill-to Address on Sales, or multiple Pay-to Address on Purchase can be managed using the Contact Card. But since it's not related, how do I manage those multiple addresses related to invoicing. (For shipments and receipts, I know that I can use the Ship-to Code and Order Addresses)

Please let me know.

Thank you.

Kenji
  • Luc_VanDyckLuc_VanDyck Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 3,633