Options

Import web services in page

rbenninkrbennink Member Posts: 18
edited 2010-07-22 in NAV Three Tier
Hello all,

First I have to say that I'm a functional consultant so my technical knowledge is limited.

I just want to know if it's possible to import a web service in a page of Dynamics NAV.
One of our suppliers have a web services available for item stock.
I want to show this stock (of the supplier) on our Item Page.

I only read to share (export) web services. It should be possible to show this information, isn't it?

Thanks in advance for your reply.
Ronnie Bennink

Comments

• Options
    SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    see if this helps:
    Microsoft Dynamics NAV Documentation
    Working with Web Services

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd355036.aspx
  • Options
    Savatage wrote:
    see if this helps:
    Microsoft Dynamics NAV Documentation
    Working with Web Services

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd355036.aspx

These are al examples of sharing and creating web services.
    There is always a possibility to create a form and combine the web service of NAV and the web service of the supplier. But is's nicer to have that information in a page.
  • Options
    SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    there are a ton of links on that page:
    Designing Web Services

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd355339.aspx

not just under "SEE" but on the left side too.
    Look thru them to see if they answer your problem.
  • Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    You cannot easilly connect the Page directly to the webservice. You need to take the webservice as source for your data.

Possible process is:

Connect to the webservice, process the resulting XML file with the data into some temporary table. Display a page over this temp table.

It is on you when the temp table will be filled in (OnOpen, some predefined periode into real table etc.).