how to create a codeunit for a text file

ChristChrist Member Posts: 24
Hello, i created a dataport to import a text file. Problem is that this process has to be automated through NAS. Nas doesn't support dataport so i have to create a codeunit to import the text file. This is rather new for me. Can anyone give me some info/code how to read in a text file through codeunit. Kind regards

Comments

• einsTeIn.NETeinsTeIn.NET Member Posts: 1,050
    I would go for a report or a XMLport, but you could also use codeunit. Maybe DataType File fits for you, but it depends on the structure of the file you want to import.
    "Money is likewise the greatest chance and the greatest scourge of mankind."
  • ChristChrist Member Posts: 24
    what is the advantage of using a report instead of a codeunit? I'm new in this stuff so i would choose the most easy way to go with. It's just a file with a komma separator per record line.
  • krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,110
    If 1 line is less than 1024 chars, you can read line per line and analyse it to separate the different fields.

A report has no advantages. Best use a codeunit.
    Best use tab separated. It is safer than ","-separated.

The code is something like this:
    txtTab := 'x'; // txtTab is text of len 1
    txtTab[1] := 9;

fil.TEXTMODE(true);
    fil.WRITEMODE(false);
    IF NOT fil.OPEN('c:\subdir\file.txt') then
      error('Could not open');
    intLen := fil.LEN;

WHILE intlen > fil.POS do begin // do not use always fin.LEN. It slows down a lot
      clear(txtString);
      fil.READ(txtString);

// analyse the txtString
      blnStop := FALSE;
      REPEAT
        intTabPos := STRPOS(txtString,txtTab);
        IF intTabPos <> 0 THEN BEGIN
          txtValue := COPYSTR(txtString,1,intTabPos - 1);
          txtString := COPYSTR(txtString,intTabPos + 1);
        END
        ELSE BEGIN
          txtValue := txtString;
          blnStop := TRUE;
        END;
        // do something with your field