Limiting User access to a SKU location?

rstolsrstols Member Posts: 28
I am trying to limit users to only be able to modify SKU's that pertain to them.
I tried the following to make it work:

1. Adding a field on the User Setup table and assign a default location to each user.
2. Adding the following code on the OnModify trigger of the Stockkeping Unit table:
UserSetup.GET(USERID);
UserSetup.TESTFIELD("UserLocation", SkuLocation."Location");

I am not a Nav programmer but I am trying to compare the default user location to the location on the SKU - if it is the same, then allow changes to the record.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions how to make this work?

Comments

• SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    rstols wrote:
    I am trying to limit users to only be able to modify SKU's that pertain to them.
    I tried the following to make it work:

1. Adding a field on the User Setup table and assign a default location to each user.
    2. Adding the following code on the OnModify trigger of the Stockkeping Unit table:
    UserSetup.GET(USERID);
    UserSetup.TESTFIELD("UserLocation", SkuLocation."Location");

I am not a Nav programmer but I am trying to compare the default user location to the location on the SKU - if it is the same, then allow changes to the record.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions how to make this work?

UserSetup.GET(USERID);
    TESTFIELD(Location,UserSetup."UserLocation");

or how about
    UserSetup.GET(USERID);
    If Location <> Usersetup."UserLocation"
    Then ERROR('User %1 is not allowed to change this Particular Location',UserSetup."User ID");

We don't use Stockkeping Unit table so if it's a specific field they are changing I would put it on the Onvalidate of the particular field. Either way give it a try.
  • Alex_ChowAlex_Chow Member Posts: 5,063
    Instead of giving error messages, why not just filter out the locations you do not want them to see?