Building a HA Cluster

ciphercipher Member Posts: 4
Hi there,

some say that it is quite impossibel to set up a HA Cluster for Navision and some say it works.

Here is waht I'd like to setup for our Navision:

2 SAN's with SSD's (total capacity of each Raid-10 will be 500GB)
Both SAN's have 2 DualPort FC's with 8Gbps

The SAN's will be managed with DataCore SanMelody

http://www.datacore.com/products/prod_SANmelody.asp

What are your suggestions? Will that work?

I am new to Navision and especially the C/Side Database which I'd like to move into a HA Storage System!

All tips, hints and suggestions are highly appreciated!

Thanks and Regards
Cipher

Comments

• ciphercipher Member Posts: 4
    Hi again!

Is there no one around who might tell me, whether my considered setup will work or not?

Would be just awesome, if someone who built already an HA Cluster vor Navision 5.01SP1 would reply!

Thanks and regards
    Cipher
  • David_SingletonDavid_Singleton Member Posts: 5,479
    Help you with what? What might help? What will it help with? What are you trying to achieve? Why do you need this level of Availability? How large is your system? What have you tried so far?

If you post absolutely ZERO ZICH NADA NIC what do you expect for an answer?

The only thing that is clear from your post is that you want to spend lots of money.

As a comparison its like going to a Auto forum and posting that you are going to buy a new car with xyz horsepower and abc turbo charger and super duppa go fast GT stripes and asking if the car will suit your purposes, yet you have not said if you are Michael Schumacher or a Taxi driver, or Mrs Smith wanting to drive the kids to soccer.

Decide WHAT you need THEN decide HOW you will do it. DOn't start with a premise of WHAT you want and then will it do the job.
    David Singleton
    Just to follow up.