Can I connect NAS to one of three SQL instances on same box?

Mike_ESPMike_ESP Member Posts: 7
SETUP:
Server computer is for my development and testing.

It is named ESO-DEV3

It has SQL 2000, SQL 2005, and SQL2008 installed with three SQL instances (or database engines, whatever... I'm not very SQL savvy):
ESO-DEV3\SQL2000
ESO-DEV3\SQL2005
ESO-DEV3\SQL2008

I've made sure to go to ESO-DEV3\SQL2008 --> Databases --> System Databases --> master --> Programmability --> Extended Stored Procedures and add the following:
dbo.xp_ndo_enumusergroups
dbo.xp_ndo_enumuserids

I created a database and made a successful connection from a remote computer, the server name shows as ESO-DEV3\SQL2008

I have created a Windows login (I will call him 'windowsguy'). windowsguy is a superuser in the database, is an administrator of the server, and is associated with the NAS service.

NAS is installed on ESO-DEV3 with the following:
Database Server Name: ESO-DEV3\SQL2008
Database: thedatabase
Company Name: thecompany
Start-Up Parameter: ADCS ADCSID=NAS1
Net Type: Default
Object Cache Size: 8000

When I try to start the NAS service, I get the event log warning, "he extended stored procedure xp_ndo_enumusersids in the library file xp_ndo.dll is not available on the database server ESO-DEV3\SQL2008"

I go change the NAS so the database server name is set to ESO-DEV3, apply settings, and restart the NAS. After a few seconds, the event log warns, "The ESO-DEV3 server cannot be found".




Is this issue because I have invalid characters in the Database Server Name?
Do I need to do something in SQL to propagate the extended stored procedure?
Is this a DNS issue? (It shouldn't be, I can ping eso-dev3\sql2008 and get a reply)
Am I not playing nice?

Answers

  • pdjpdj Member Posts: 643
    Have you granted Execute permissions to the stored procedures for the Public role?
    Regards
    Peter
  • krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,110
    Seems that you didn't create the stored procedures correctly (or gave the correct permissions to them).

    This is the code you need to run (adapt for your subdir).
    USE master
    EXEC sp_addextendedproc xp_ndo_enumusergroups, 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\Binn\xp_ndo.dll'
    GO
    
    GRANT EXECUTE
    ON [xp_ndo_enumusergroups]
    TO PUBLIC
    GO
    
    USE master
    EXEC sp_addextendedproc xp_ndo_enumusersids, 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\Binn\xp_ndo.dll'
    GO
    
    GRANT EXECUTE
    ON [xp_ndo_enumusersids]
    TO PUBLIC
    GO
    

    You should do that for each instance.


    [Topic moved from 'NAV 2009' forum to 'NAV/Navision' forum]
    Regards,Alain Krikilion
    No PM,please use the forum. || May the <SOLVED>-attribute be in your title!


  • strykstryk Member Posts: 645
    Also make sure that the "SQL Server Browser" services are up & running.
    Jörg A. Stryk (MVP - Dynamics NAV)
    NAV/SQL Performance Optimization & Troubleshooting
    STRYK System Improvement
    The Blog - The Book - The Tool
  • ProcatProcat Member Posts: 31
    Have you copied xp_ndo.dll into the SQL server dir?
  • Mike_ESPMike_ESP Member Posts: 7
    Wow, I feel totally ridiculous. #-o #-o


    The previous user specified xp_ndo_enumuserids.
    I deleted it, and added xp_ndo_enumusersids

    Note the extra S.

    I should have mentioned that all my previous connections were with database logins, not windows, so I never noticed the error until today.

    ADCS is up and running
Sign In or Register to comment.