Flow Field on a Flow Field - Can it be done?

AndyClarkeAndyClarke Member Posts: 6
Hello,

I'm fairly new to Navision and am having an issue with Flow Fields. Can someone please put me back on track!

I've got a Vehicle table which has a link by an ID back to a Model table

The model table has a 'Vehicle Type' which just says 'CAR' or 'VAN'

I put a flow field on Vehicle so that it also has a 'Vehicle Type' - this works fine ...

Heres the problem ...

In my Purchase Line table I have an ID referencing the Vehicle table, but it would be really useful to know if its a car or van so I tried to put a Flow Field back to the 'Vehicle Type' (which is the flow field on vehicle) - this dosnt work - if i change it to a none Flow Field on vehicle this works fine!

Am I trying to do something that can't be done? or is it possible to set up a flow field that jumps across two tables?

Can anyone please help?

Comments

• David_SingletonDavid_Singleton Member Posts: 5,479
    Yes, but you need to make sure the control numbers are sequential so that they first one calculates before the second.
    David Singleton
  • JedrzejTJedrzejT Member Posts: 267
    edited 2010-01-29
    Yes, but you need to make sure the control numbers are sequential so that they first one calculates before the second.

and..First one must be visible (even if you wan't see this value) for proper count second. Calcfield propery in form properties or calcfields in code onafter don't help with this

Edit : It is not about of control ID seqence - It is about form "real" view. I mean.. If user Change sequence of the field (grab and put second column before first) this stop working (when he open form again with this new view) - it is some danger of that, because user can destroy the logic 8)
    As you know .. if He can - He do it :D
  • matttraxmatttrax Member Posts: 2,309

Seriously? I wish I had known this a long time ago. If this is not in the Tips and Tricks section, it should be.