Options

Error message when you open a report in RTC

sridharsridhar Member Posts: 171
edited 2010-02-05 in NAV Three Tier
Hi,

I am using NAV 2009 SP1 (6.00.29626). When even I try to open a report from NAV RTC I am getting error message as
" Microsoft Dynamics NAV Classic client was opened from an unauthorised component. Contact your system administrator."
How ever I can open the same report from Classic environment. Please guide me how to overcome this error.

Thanks,
N.Sridhar

Answers

  • Options
    worthowortho Member Posts: 23
    Hi,

    The classic client tries to verify that the process launching it is the correct version of the RTC. Is it possible that you are running a version of RTC that is different to the version of the Classic Client?
    What platform are you running (Vista, Win7, Win2008 64 or 32bit)?

    Regards,

    David
    “This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.”
  • Options
    sridharsridhar Member Posts: 171
    Both classic and RTC has the same version and I am using XP 32 bit environment.

    Thanks,
    N.Sridhar
  • Options
    hvdhoevenhvdhoeven Member Posts: 99
    I thought this has to do with an incorrect installation of MS Chart (is on the product DVD).
    Reinstall MS Chart or the correct version of .NET to solve this problem.
  • Options
    sridharsridhar Member Posts: 171
    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply. I tried reinstalling .net 3.5 and MS Chart control (from product DVD). But not able to open the reports.

    Thanks,
    N.Sridhar
  • Options
    Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    What happens if you double click on a database? Does NAV2009 open? Maybe the default NAV application is an older version?
  • Options
    worthowortho Member Posts: 23
    Hi,

    The error returned by the Classic Client if it cannot identify the application that is launching the report as the correct version of RCT is:
    "... client was opened from an untrustworthy component."

    Is this the actual error message you are getting?

    Regards,

    David
    “This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.”
  • Options
    langlang Member Posts: 27
    hi all!

    I have the same problem! how can I fix that problem?

    thanks!
  • Options
    sridharsridhar Member Posts: 171
    Hi Wortho,

    " Microsoft Dynamics NAV Classic client was opened from an unauthorised component. Contact your system administrator."

    The above (bolded) error message is poping up when ever I try to open a report from RTC.

    Thanks,
    N.Sridhar
  • Options
    sridharsridhar Member Posts: 171
    Hi All,

    The issue is solved by reinstalling RTC. The report does not open because of mismatch in verison of Classic & RTC

    But I have some question here which I feel very important.

    Around 2 months before I downloaded NAV 2009 SP1 (Dynamics.NAV60SP1.NA.1053093.DVD) from MS.

    From the downloaded file I have noticed that the version of Classic differs with RTC in SP1.

    The version of fin.exe (Classic) from the downloade file is 6.0.29626.0
    (\Dynamics.NAV60SP1.NA.1053093.DVD\CsideClient\program files\MicrosoftDynamics NAV\60\Classic).

    The version of Microsoft.Dynamics.Nav.Client.exe (RTC) from the downloaded file is 6.0.30380.0
    (Dynamics.NAV60SP1.NA.1053093.DVD\RoleTailoredClient\program files\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\60\RoleTailored Client)

    But again today I downloaded NAV 2009 SP1 (Dynamics.NAV60SP1.NA.1053093.DVD) from MS.
    Now the version in Classic and RTC are same (6.0.29626.0). Now I am able to run the reports from RTC. Why there is conflict in important files in the released version of NAV 2009 SP1?

    Thanks,
    N.Sridhar
  • Options
    worthowortho Member Posts: 23
    Hi,

    In answer to your question it appears from the later build number "6.0.30380" of Microsoft.Dynamics.Nav.Client.exe (RTC) that you had applied a hotfix to original NAV 2009 SP1 version.

    The problem with the mismatch between the versions in the hotfix has been fixed and a new hotfix is on the way.

    Regards,

    David
    “This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.”
Sign In or Register to comment.