Working method to call external script on 64-bit Windows

ullerdkullerdk Member Posts: 16
Hi everybody.
Does anybody know a working method to call/execute a external script on a Windows 64-bit computer? The normal Wshell command doesn't seem to work.
Regards
Ulrik

Comments

• FDickschatFDickschat Member Posts: 380
    I just tried WSHShell.Run and WSHShell.Popup on Server 2003, 64Bit and both work.
    What exactly is your problem? Maybe it is not a question of 64 Bit but of the OS version?
    Frank Dickschat
    FD Consulting
  • ullerdkullerdk Member Posts: 16
    I am not a programmer myself, but I can see that the command Wshell.Run that the programmer has used to call the external script, isn't valid and understood by the DOS shell on a Windows 7 64-bit. I tried on Windows 7 32-bit, there it works fine.
    Which automation did you use?
    The Automation is 'Windows Script Host Object Model'.WshShell. We typically use Run, Popup and the Registry functions.

As you stated in your case it is a windows 7, 64Bit problem. It seems not to be a general 64Bit problem as there is no problem here with Server2003 64Bit.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Script_Host lists Windows 7 with WSH 5.7 so it should exist on your OS. Maybe it is deactivated. Google how to lookup whether that is the case.
    Frank Dickschat
    FD Consulting
    FDickschat wrote:
    The Automation is 'Windows Script Host Object Model'.WshShell. We typically use Run, Popup and the Registry functions.

As you stated in your case it is a windows 7, 64Bit problem. It seems not to be a general 64Bit problem as there is no problem here with Server2003 64Bit.

OK, have you tested now yourself on a 64-bit Windows 7 and it didn't work?
    No, I have here only several W7 32Bit Computers available. Maybe you should change the topic so that someone who reads this thread knows what you are looking for.
    Frank Dickschat
    FD Consulting