How to get started?

vivalvival Member Posts: 6
Hello,

I'm an new of NAV and trying to learn, I know it's not easy even if i have many years of experience of business applications and .NET infrastructure strong knowledge.

I have some question to post to the forum experts.

1) I bougth the latest books on NAV 2009 suggested in this forum and starting to read it, but i need a developer copy to exercise. How to get a developer copy of NAV? Do I need to buy it? Is it possible to download it? By developer i mean a copy i can play on all the modules.
2) Which is the best way to learn? Do some course? Hire a consultant?

Many thanks in advance to who will get the time to answer.

--vival

Comments

• David_SingletonDavid_Singleton Member Posts: 5,479
    Asking the question is always the first step to solving the problem, so you have already taken the first step.

The next most important step is to understand what Navision is and what Navision isn't.

Navision is an integrated ERP system. Navision IS NOT a development language.

The biggest mistake most newbie make in Navision is to feel that they can simply learn how to program and they will know it all. To learn C/SIDE should take you no more than one week so don't worry about that for now.

Your first step is to learn the Navision base application. You only need the demo version of Navision to to that, which you can download from this web site. If at all possible use the W1 version for learning. Try not to learn from any international versions.

The starting point is to lean haw to:
    Create a customer, vendor and item
    Purchase and sell an item
    Create a purchase order and sales order for an item, receive ship and invoice.
    Learn how the posting groups work.

Here are two articles that can get you started:

http://wiki.dynamicsbook.com/index.php?title=Learning_Dynamics_NAV

http://wiki.dynamicsbook.com/index.php?title=A_test_of_your_NAV_skills
    David Singleton
  • vivalvival Member Posts: 6